Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Unable to launch game at all, tried everything
Author Message
lizard20141 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 3 Days, 11 Hours, 15 Minutes, 28 Seconds ago Exclamation Unable to launch game at all, tried everything

I need help. every time i try to play this game, and i have tried so many things to get it to work, but it will open the game with a black screen, then instantly crash. my hpl file is here:
Version 1.20

-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------
Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating generate module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating loader handlers
Creating resource managers
Adding loaders to handlers
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init lowlevel graphics: 800x600 disp:0 bpp:32 fs:0 ms:0 gpufmt:2 cap:'Amnesia - The Dark Descent - Loading...' posSad-1x-1)
Setting video mode: 800 x 600 - 32 bpp
Init Glew...OK
Setting up OpenGL
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer: GeForce GT 745M/PCIe/SSE2
Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 347.25
Max texture image units: 32
Max texture coord units: 8
Max user clip planes: 8
Two sided stencil: 1
Vertex Buffer Object: 1
Anisotropic filtering: 1
Max Anisotropic degree: 16
Multisampling: 1
Texture compression: 1
Texture compression S3TC: 1
Auto generate MipMaps: 1
Render to texture: 1
Max draw buffers: 8
Max color render targets: 8
Packed depth-stencil: 1
Texture float: 1
GLSL Version: 4.50 NVIDIA
ShaderModel 2: 1
ShaderModel 3: 1
ShaderModel 4: 1
OGL ATIFragmentShader: 0
Setting up G-Bugger: type: 0 texturenum: 3
Adding engine materials
Initializing DevIL
Vendor String: Abysmal Software
Version String: Developer's Image Library (DevIL) 1.6.8pre Aug 12 2006
Version Number: 168
***** WARNING *****
Expecting IL version 178 and found version 168
Cube Maps may not load correctly in this version and will not render correctly in game
Please use the included version of libIL and not a custom build if you have issues
***** WARNING *****
Adding engine post effects
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing OpenAL
Available OpenAL devices:
0. Generic Software on Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)(OpenAL default)
1. Generic Software on Speakers (4- Logitech G430 Gaming Headset)
Trying to open device 'Generic Software on Speakers (4- Logitech G430 Gaming Headset)'... Success!
Number of mono sources: 32
Streaming setup: 4 Buffers x 262144 bytes each
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Game Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Adding engine updates
Initializing script functions
--------------------------------------------------------

User Initialization
--------------------------------------------------------



I have a really good graphics card that works fine, its the geforce card, previously it was defaulted to my intel graphics card, but i manually switched it to use my geforce card. i do not know what else to do!!! if you need info please tell me and i will reply. HELP!!!!!!
02-04-2015 06:27 PM
Find all posts by this user
Slanderous Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,608
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 62
Post: #2
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 3 Days, 11 Hours, 15 Minutes, 28 Seconds ago RE: Unable to launch game at all, tried everything

Are you using a steam version and has the game updated to 1.3 recently?
02-04-2015 09:31 PM
Find all posts by this user
lizard20141 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 3 Days, 11 Hours, 15 Minutes, 28 Seconds ago RE: Unable to launch game at all, tried everything

(02-04-2015 09:31 PM)Lazzer Wrote:  Are you using a steam version and has the game updated to 1.3 recently?

im am using the steam version and i have no idea what the current version is
02-04-2015 09:43 PM
Find all posts by this user
Slanderous Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,608
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 62
Post: #4
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 3 Days, 11 Hours, 15 Minutes, 28 Seconds ago RE: Unable to launch game at all, tried everything

It might be an issue with 1.3 patch. Does it show you an error box named "Black Box"?
02-04-2015 10:04 PM
Find all posts by this user
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
Post: #5
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 3 Days, 11 Hours, 15 Minutes, 28 Seconds ago RE: Unable to launch game at all, tried everything

Take properties on the game in Steam, then click the Betas tab, and select the beta bransch. This should then update the game and you can try and see if that helps.
02-04-2015 10:05 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
lizard20141 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 3 Days, 11 Hours, 15 Minutes, 28 Seconds ago RE: Unable to launch game at all, tried everything

(02-04-2015 10:05 PM)jens Wrote:  Take properties on the game in Steam, then click the Betas tab, and select the beta bransch. This should then update the game and you can try and see if that helps.

YEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANKYOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(02-04-2015 10:05 PM)jens Wrote:  Take properties on the game in Steam, then click the Betas tab, and select the beta bransch. This should then update the game and you can try and see if that helps.

last question..... how do i get custom stories for this game?
(This post was last modified: 02-04-2015 10:11 PM by lizard20141.)
02-04-2015 10:07 PM
Find all posts by this user
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #7
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 3 Days, 11 Hours, 15 Minutes, 28 Seconds ago RE: Unable to launch game at all, tried everything

Well, first you find one to download, then you simply place it within the custom_stories directory in your Amnesia installation. Considering it's Steam, it might be C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Amnesia The Dark Descent.

02-05-2015 12:34 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)