Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
Segmentation Fault
Author Message
Joy Dragon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Segmentation Fault

I can't seem to run the game, and as you say it should be pretty straightforward.
I'm a Linux user, and I downloaded/extracted all the sources of the game.
At first I had a weird compiling problem, with the line 43 in HPL1Engine pack, the include on the sources/impl/GLee.c. So I changed it to <GL/GLee.h>, and it was al right.
After that I can get to the 100% in the compiling stage and I get the damn "Segmentation Fault".
Can you tell me what's the problem, how can I find it, or if you can replicate it?

Thanks a lot
05-18-2010 12:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,155
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 19
Post: #2
RE: Segmentation Fault

You get a segmentation fault when compiling?

Or when running the game? Did you run the compiled binary from the overture install directory?

Developing away on one of
Mac Pro Dual 2Ghz, 14GB RAM, 10.6 (still), nVidia 8800 512MB.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 17, nVidia 450 1GB
05-18-2010 12:55 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Joy Dragon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Segmentation Fault

Sorry, the segmentation fault is when running the game
I compile everything with no problems
And when trying to run the "overture.bin" one of two things can happen:
1) It does nothing and just pop the Segmentation Fault
2) Try to change the resolution, some black screens and then just shows the same segmentation fault Tongue

Hope you can help me
Thanks
05-18-2010 12:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
desmoteo Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Segmentation Fault

Same here

I am using ubuntu 10.04 32 bit.
I get the following with gdb:

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x085f534e in cLowLevelSystemSDL (this=0x8a4a9f0) at /media/79a07884-5e89-4b38-a921-08441366d872/FrictionalGames/OvertureSource/HPL1Engine/sources/impl/LowLevelSystemSDL.cpp:159


The pointer to mpScriptEngine seems to be null.

Matteo
05-18-2010 09:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Joy Dragon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Segmentation Fault

Just to add for my problem... I found the hpl log ( ~/.frictionalgames/Penumbra/Overture/hpl.log)
and its the following

-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating resource managers
Misc Creation
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init low level graphics
Setting video mode: 800 x 600 - 32 bpp
Init Glee...OK
Setting up OpenGL
  Max texture image units: 16
  Max texture coord units: 8
  Two sided stencil: 1
  Vertex Buffer Object: 1
  Anisotropic filtering: 1
  Max Anisotropic degree: 16
  Multisampling: 1
  Vertex Program: 1
  Fragment Program: 1
  NV Register Combiners: 0
  NV Register Combiners Stages: -1073750060
  ATI Fragment Shader: 0
Creating graphic systems
  Creating Renderer2D
ERROR: Couldn't texture 'PointLight2D.bmp'
FATAL ERROR: Couldn't load PointLight2D

So it might be a video card problem?
I have an Intel GMA 4500MHD
Is that it?

Thanks
05-18-2010 12:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,155
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 19
Post: #6
RE: Segmentation Fault

by the fact that it can't find PointLight2D looks like you aren't running the binary from the install directory, and Yes the Intel GMA's are not supported.

Anyways, just run the game via the debugger and see where it's crashing.. It might be good to edit the settings.cfg to set the game into windowed mode (FullScreen="false") And to temporarily change the cLowLevelInputSDL::LockInput() function to NEVER grab the input (so you can release the mouse from the game and debug)

Developing away on one of
Mac Pro Dual 2Ghz, 14GB RAM, 10.6 (still), nVidia 8800 512MB.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 17, nVidia 450 1GB
05-18-2010 03:18 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)