Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

3DS Max Anyone?
PerfectBlue Offline

Threads: 12
3DS Max Anyone?

Since games are my passion, I am slowly trying to acquire the skills to make my own. Anyways I just started learning 3DS max, and here is what I created with some help from a tutorial, a low polygon retro TV game asset. Still need to model the antenna, but not sure how to approach that quite yet. If I can improve enough by the time Amnesia releases, I would love to work on a mod project, or if anyone would like to help me to improve (e.g. pointers over steam) that would be even better.

[Image: tv5.png]

Hope I can continue to learn quickly.
07-10-2010, 06:49 AM
Find
eliasfrost Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 34
RE: 3DS Max Anyone?

I was modelling quite a lot a year ago, so I can give you some pointers:

1. Your edge flow seem to cut of at places, see picture. Since I'm used to work with very low poly models, I'm extremely prissy when it comes to edge flow and edge loops.

2. This is a case of preference but here goes: modeling different parts of an object separately and them combining them might work in some occasions but it's really not something you want to continue doing, especially if you are going to animate the object. Since the vertices are not COMPLETELY connected, you might end up with ripping off parts of the model during the animation process.

3. Since you are going to use this for games, try lowering the poly count (which is essentially the number of faces) for a more efficient model. Like the volume/channel control panel, you could use bump mapping to create the desired details, same goes with the speaker.

[Image: tv5feed.jpg]

Just my pointers, keep up the good work, you are great! ^^

[Image: indiedb_88x31.png]
07-10-2010, 09:38 AM
Find
PerfectBlue Offline