Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!
Author Message
acare Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

Hi, I am from Turkey and on the first level change (to refinery) I saw a writing on the loading screen and it is saying Turkish Delight and consulate of Constantinople. But this city is called Istanbul since the year 1453. I hope you will change the name of Constantinople to Istanbul in the release version of Amnesia. We are very sensitive about this, thank you.
09-06-2010 08:26 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 66
Post: #2
RE: One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

(Türkçe yamada değiştirdim; ama asıl oyunda böyle kalması muhtemel.)

09-06-2010 10:00 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
The Sombrero Kid Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

(09-06-2010 08:26 AM)acare Wrote:  Hi, I am from Turkey and on the first level change (to refinery) I saw a writing on the loading screen and it is saying Turkish Delight and consulate of Constantinople. But this city is called Istanbul since the year 1453. I hope you will change the name of Constantinople to Istanbul in the release version of Amnesia. We are very sensitive about this, thank you.

The Game is set in a medieval castle at an unspecified date, personally I would like it changed if it was unintentional, but if it is an intentional indication of the period in which the game is set i would prefer it remains as Constantinople.
09-06-2010 10:14 AM
Find all posts by this user
IIPEE Offline
GameScraper.net

Posts: 3,199
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 55
Post: #4
RE: One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

(09-06-2010 10:14 AM)The Sombrero Kid Wrote:  The Game is set in a medieval castle at an unspecified date

There's date in the note Daniel wrote to himself:
19th of August, 1839 .

• It took me 7 years to get THIS far...
09-06-2010 10:27 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
MulleDK19 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 540
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #5
RE: One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

WikiPedia Wrote:English: Constantinople (Greek: Κωνσταντινούπολις, Latin: Constantinopolis, Turkish: Istanbul)


No mistake.

[Image: 16455.png]
09-06-2010 10:50 AM
Find all posts by this user
acare Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

(09-06-2010 10:50 AM)MulleDK19 Wrote:  
WikiPedia Wrote:English: Constantinople (Greek: Κωνσταντινούπολις, Latin: Constantinopolis, Turkish: Istanbul)


No mistake.

Nope, name is Internationally 'Istanbul", from Wikipedia again.

[Image: istanbulcc.jpg]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Istanbul
09-06-2010 11:12 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
The Sombrero Kid Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

According to Wikipedia the official name was Constantinople up until 1930 Confused
(09-06-2010 10:27 AM)Scraper Wrote:  
(09-06-2010 10:14 AM)The Sombrero Kid Wrote:  The Game is set in a medieval castle at an unspecified date

There's date in the note Daniel wrote to himself:
19th of August, 1839 .

My Mistake TY Big Grin
After reading this article and from other books I've read from the period

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Names_of_Istanbul

i personally feel that while it is likely Turkish people of the Era would've referred to it as Istanbul, i doubt that a British person of the era would have.

imo Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 09-06-2010 11:45 AM by The Sombrero Kid.)
09-06-2010 11:32 AM
Find all posts by this user
MulleDK19 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 540
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #8
RE: One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

(09-06-2010 11:12 AM)acare Wrote:  
(09-06-2010 10:50 AM)MulleDK19 Wrote:  
WikiPedia Wrote:English: Constantinople (Greek: Κωνσταντινούπολις, Latin: Constantinopolis, Turkish: Istanbul)


No mistake.

Nope, name is Internationally 'Istanbul", from Wikipedia again.

[Image: istanbulcc.jpg]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Istanbul




You are right, it IS. But this game took place 150 years ago.




(09-06-2010 10:27 AM)Scraper Wrote:  There's date in the note Daniel wrote to himself:
19th of August, 1839 .

Game obviously takes place in 1839. Now... Let's look at your picture again.

Let's see:
Game date: 1839... Now, according to your image from WikiPedia: Constantinople wasn't internationally known as Istanbul before the year 1930...
As far as I can see, it wasn't known as Istanbul internationally before 91 years after the game.

So at the time the game takes place it was known as Constantinople, except in Ottoman and Modern Turkish.


Just to make it clearer:
From year 660 BC to year 330 AD, the city was known as Byzantium (Internationally).
From year 330 AD to year 1455, the city was known as Constantinople (Internationally).
From year 1453 to year 1923, the city was known as Istanbul (Ottoman Turkish). << This is where the game is at (1839), therefore still Constantinople.
From year 1923 to year 1930, the city was known as Istanbul (Modern Turkish).
From year 1930, the city was known as Istanbul (Internationally). << Wasn't known as Istanbul internationally before 1930.


So again:
(09-06-2010 10:50 AM)MulleDK19 Wrote:  No mistake.

[Image: 16455.png]
09-06-2010 12:08 PM
Find all posts by this user
acare Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

As I said it is Proper noun. Date is now 2010 and game date is not important and it is known as Istanbul. Look at the other games for example; Total War Series, in Medieval: Total War and Empire: Total War city name is Istanbul not Constantinople. Also in Age of Empire Series city name is Istanbul and they all takes places in before 1930. So using Constantinople in game is not a good idea after all. All big publishers and devs are using Istanbul and not looking when the game takes places. Anyway I just wanted to learn Frictional Games can make it Istanbul or not and they made it Constantinople because they don't know Istanbul name or not. Thank you.
09-06-2010 12:34 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
MulleDK19 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 540
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #10
RE: One small request; It is not Constantinople it is Istanbul!

(09-06-2010 12:34 PM)acare Wrote:  As I said it is Proper noun. Date is now 2010 and game date is not important and it is known as Istanbul. Look at the other games for example; Total War Series, in Medieval: Total War and Empire: Total War city name is Istanbul not Constantinople. Also in Age of Empire Series city name is Istanbul and they all takes places in before 1930. So using Constantinople in game is not a good idea after all. All big publishers and devs are using Istanbul and not looking when the game takes places. Anyway I just wanted to learn Frictional Games can make it Istanbul or not and they made it Constantinople because they don't know Istanbul name or not. Thank you.

So finally a company that does it right, and they get bashed.

I really wouldn't want to play a game that takes place in 1253 and see someone driving by in a Farrari while having a LAN-party, just because it's like that today. (Probably not so often people are having a LAN-party in a Ferrari)

Or a news paper that congratulates Obama 150 years before he becomes president.

[Image: 16455.png]
09-06-2010 12:40 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)