Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom loading screens?
Neurological Offline
Member

Posts: 71
Threads: 11
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
#1
Custom loading screens?

There is a way to put new custom loading screens? I mean the static pics with the text on it. I couldn't find any reference on the game files maybe is some config file I need to put on my custom story?

Thanks in advance.

Neurological - Music Entertainment
http://www.neuro-lab.net
09-17-2010, 11:49 PM
Find
nofsky Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 423
Threads: 13
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 1
#2
RE: Custom loading screens?

Yes you can. You can check the script for any level, in the "void OnLeave()" function there is always something like this:

SetupLoadScreen("LoadingText", "Ch01_Diary04_", 5, "game_loading_hand.jpg");

With that you can choose the image to display and the text.
09-18-2010, 12:47 AM
Find
iTIMMEH Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 40
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Custom loading screens?

Just thought I'd add some more detail:

SetupLoadScreen("category name", "entry name", integer, "image to use"), so:
void OnLeave()
{
    SetupLoadScreen("LoadingText", "Test_entry", 2, "game_loading.jpg");
}

The integer is used to select text at random, between 1 and the number entered. If you just want one piece of text per loading screen, leave it as 0 or 1.

The category and entry name should be set in extra_english.lang:

<CATEGORY Name="LoadingText">
    <Entry Name="Test_entry01">loading screen text</Entry>
    <Entry Name="Test_entry02">loading screen text 2</Entry>
  </CATEGORY>
09-18-2010, 01:25 AM
Find
Neurological Offline
Member

Posts: 71
Threads: 11
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
#4
RE: Custom loading screens?

Many thanks, just one last question, where I put the loading images, there is any special folder that need to be created for this?

EDIT: Nevermind found it out. For who is interested just create inside your story folder other two subfolders:

graphics/general

and put there the jpg

Neurological - Music Entertainment
http://www.neuro-lab.net
09-18-2010, 01:55 AM
Find
MulleDK19 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 545
Threads: 21
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 10
#5
RE: Custom loading screens?

(09-18-2010, 01:55 AM)Neurological Wrote: Many thanks, just one last question, where I put the loading images, there is any special folder that need to be created for this?

EDIT: Nevermind found it out. For who is interested just create inside your story folder other two subfolders:

graphics/general

and put there the jpg

Shouldn't matter where you put it, as long as it's inside your story folder.

[Image: 16455.png]
09-18-2010, 12:16 PM
Find
pawsUp1703 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 45
Threads: 16
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: Custom loading screens?

What did I wrong?
I have a loading screen in my custom story folder in graphics/general
i have this in the LANG file:
<CATEGORY Name="Loading">
    <Entry Name="Home01">Ich machte mich auf den Weg nach Alderley Edge und war voller Zuversicht ein paar schoene Tage dort zu verbingen. Ich war auf meinen Gastgeber gespannt und fuehlte mich geschmeichelt.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>

and this in my script:
void OnLeave()
{
SetupLoadScreen("Loading", "Home", 1, "game_loading_home.jpg");
}

But whenever i interact with the leveldoor the game crashes.. but I don't get an error message that tells me in which line of the script the error is but the error message which tells you "that something is wroooong" and that you should visit frictionalgames.com and so on...

So can anybody help me?

It doesn't matter if you love him, or capital H.I.M.
Just put your Paws Up, 'cause you were Born This Way baby!
03-13-2011, 03:27 PM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#7
RE: Custom loading screens?

Did you specify the next level and player start area for the properties of door?

03-13-2011, 03:43 PM
Website Find
pawsUp1703 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 45
Threads: 16
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: Custom loading screens?

(03-13-2011, 03:43 PM)Tanshaydar Wrote: Did you specify the next level and player start area for the properties of door?

Yeah i did...
In the door the start Pos is "1" and the map "map2" the map where it leads to is "map2" and the ony lstart pos in it is "1"...

It doesn't matter if you love him, or capital H.I.M.
Just put your Paws Up, 'cause you were Born This Way baby!
03-13-2011, 03:58 PM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#9
RE: Custom loading screens?

Is it only "1" or "PlayerStartArea_1"?

03-13-2011, 05:07 PM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)