Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
changing lantern properties?
Author Message
gosseyn Offline
Member

Posts: 63
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
changing lantern properties?

i would like to know if it is possible to modify radius, intensity and stuff like that of the lantern light, because i find it a bit to luminous for my taste. Thanks.
09-21-2010 08:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
Post: #2
RE: changing lantern properties?

Check models models\hand_objects\lantern\lantern.ho
09-21-2010 12:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gosseyn Offline
Member

Posts: 63
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
RE: changing lantern properties?

Thanks, i am modifying some of the variables but it doesn't affect the game (i do reload map, not quick), do i have to do something more?


lantern.ho
<HandObject>
    <Main
        Model = "hand_lantern.ent"
        Type= "LightSource"
    
    />

    <Settings
        OffsetScale = "0.1 0.1 0.1"
        OffsetRotation = "-15 -5 -46"
        OffsetPosition = "-0.0105 -0.0035 0.002"
            
        HandsAnim_Idle = "Lantern_Idle"
        HandsAnim_Draw = "Lantern_Draw"
        HandsAnim_Holster = "Lantern_Holster"
        
        AttachBoneName = "attachpoint"
                
        FadeInTime = "10"
        FadeOutTime = "10"
        
        HasSwayPhysics = "true"
        MaxSwayVel = "15"
        SwayAngleLimits = "-13 90"
        SwayDownAngleLimits = "-7 80"
        SwayPinDir = "0 0 1"
        SwayGravity = "12"
        SwayFriction = "1.0"
        SwayPlayerSpeedMul = "0.015"
        SwayCameraRollMul = "1"
        
        SkipSwaySubMesh = "handle_wood"
    />

</HandObject>
09-21-2010 12:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gosseyn Offline
Member

Posts: 63
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #4
RE: changing lantern properties?

it is working, i had to exit and relaunch the game, not only reload the map. But is there any way to affect only the light and not the model? Because for example, if i change OffsetScale from (1 1 1) to anything else, i get strange shadows, like if there was no falloff, and the model is altered too. Is there a way to affect only the light(radius and color mainly) ? Thank you!
09-22-2010 07:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Openshaw Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: changing lantern properties?

(09-22-2010 07:09 AM)gosseyn Wrote:  it is working, i had to exit and relaunch the game, not only reload the map. But is there any way to affect only the light and not the model? Because for example, if i change OffsetScale from (1 1 1) to anything else, i get strange shadows, like if there was no falloff, and the model is altered too. Is there a way to affect only the light(radius and color mainly) ? Thank you!

Yeah i also would be interested in how to change the light properties. From sniffing around it seems the light is hardcoded and i did not find any way to modify anything, i started to modify the light falloff texture (the projected texture) and the changes where (after restarting the game) not visible.

T'is a shame, i really like to see a lantern which casts some nice falloff textures.
09-22-2010 07:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
Post: #6
RE: changing lantern properties?

The light is in the entity file for the lantern if I recall correctly.

So just change the entity file hand_lantern.ent using model editor.
09-22-2010 10:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)