Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
A collection of questions
Author Message
Alienchild Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
A collection of questions

Here is a list of stuff I'd really like to know. If anyone have some time and a few answers it would be much appreciated;

1) In 3d Studio Max (2010) units, how tall is the character (camera) approx?

2) I needed to rotate a wall I created in 3ds. How does the XYZ coords translate from 3ds to ModelEditor? Shouldn't they be the same?

2) What is the conversion rate of 3d Studio Max units and LevelEditor units? The wall was 4x0,2x2 (width/breadth/height) and nowhere did it fit within the units of the LevelEditor.

4) Once the wall was converted to an .ent and I played around with it in the Level Editor the pivot was off. Is it possible to adjust pivot placement?

5) I made a C# app that would (among other things) start the misc. exe files in the amnesia folder (using Process.Start("path")Wink. When I tried launching the LevelEditor I got some weird errors about not finding lots of folders. It might not exactly be a question for you devs but would you have any idea why?
09-21-2010 08:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MulleDK19 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 545
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #2
RE: A collection of questions

(09-21-2010 08:46 PM)Alienchild Wrote:  1) In 3d Studio Max (2010) units, how tall is the character (camera) approx?
Hard to tell. You'll need to know the units used by HPL2, then set 3ds Max to use the same.

(09-21-2010 08:46 PM)Alienchild Wrote:  2) I needed to rotate a wall I created in 3ds. How does the XYZ coords translate from 3ds to ModelEditor? Shouldn't they be the same?
HPL2 uses Maya coordinates (Y up). 3ds max has Z up.

(09-21-2010 08:46 PM)Alienchild Wrote:  3) What is the conversion rate of 3d Studio Max units and LevelEditor units? The wall was 4x0,2x2 (width/breadth/height) and nowhere did it fit within the units of the LevelEditor.
See first answer I guess.

(09-21-2010 08:46 PM)Alienchild Wrote:  5) I made a C# app that would (among other things) start the misc. exe files in the amnesia folder (using Process.Start("path")Wink. When I tried launching the LevelEditor I got some weird errors about not finding lots of folders. It might not exactly be a question for you devs but would you have any idea why?
Define the working directory.
string path = @"C:\Program Files\Amnesia - The Dark Descent\redist\LevelEditor.exe";
System.Diagnostics.Process p = new System.Diagnostics.Process();
p.StartInfo.FileName = path;
p.StartInfo.WorkingDirectory = System.IO.Path.GetDirectoryName(path);
p.Start();


If your C# app is in the same directory as the game/editor, you can use:
string path = System.IO.Path.Combine(Application.StartupPath, "LevelEditor.exe");
System.Diagnostics.Process p = new System.Diagnostics.Process();
p.StartInfo.FileName = path;
p.StartInfo.WorkingDirectory = Application.StartupPath;
p.Start();

[Image: 16455.png]
09-21-2010 11:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Alienchild Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: A collection of questions

Thanks alot Mulle, I'll give the C# stuff a shot once I get home from work Smile
09-22-2010 10:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MulleDK19 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 545
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #4
RE: A collection of questions

(09-22-2010 10:56 AM)Alienchild Wrote:  Thanks alot Mulle, I'll give the C# stuff a shot once I get home from work Smile

No problem Wink

[Image: 16455.png]
09-22-2010 11:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)