Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom materials not working
Author Message
Alienchild Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Custom materials not working

Every material I make (using either .dds or .jpg) shows up in the LevelEditor with extreme brightness, and in-game they are totally black. Anyone else experienced this?
10-03-2010 11:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Entih Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Custom materials not working

I am getting a similar but different issue. In a test using 4 formats: DDS, JPG, TGA, and PNG, only the TGA worked straight off. All four appeared in the editors, but in game a plane on which they were applied was fully transparent, except for the TGA image, and crashed the game when looked at in inspection mode (likely due to the texture reading feature not finding anything). I tried a few different DDS formats, but none worked before Photoshop started acting all bizarre and I gave up (Its likely one of the ARGB formats, but Photoshop crashed on exporting half of them).

If you're having trouble with materials yet, try TGA next. The filesize will likely be larger, but if it actually shows up properly in-game, then its worth it.
10-03-2010 06:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Neurological Offline
Member

Posts: 71
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
RE: Custom materials not working

(10-03-2010 11:24 AM)Alienchild Wrote:  Every material I make (using either .dds or .jpg) shows up in the LevelEditor with extreme brightness, and in-game they are totally black. Anyone else experienced this?

Which settings do you use to export the dds? I use DXT1 with no alpha, and add some mipmaps.

TGAs works good too, depending on what you need them for, a 24bit tga with RGB colors works good.

Neurological - Music Entertainment
http://www.neuro-lab.net
10-04-2010 01:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Evil Ash Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Custom materials not working

In the MaterialEditor, change the BLEND method to Alpha.
It defaults to Add.

Unless it is on Alpha, then you may have your alpha channel inverted.

Also ensure no animations have been specified.

This should resolve the ingame issue. I have some custom textures that show fullbright as well in the editor, but everything is peachy in game.

You can also manually open the .mat files of other textures and compare to your generated .mat (open using notepad/wordpad).

Find settings that differ and try copying them from the working material.

[Image: revelationsig.png]
10-04-2010 04:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)