Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
the penumbra collection won't launch
Author Message
gosthrider Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Not Solved the penumbra collection won't launch

Hi there!

I played overture, now I'm trying to finish black plague. The game was running fine until today: It doesn't launch anymore!

I tried overture and requiem, same problem. Launching them trough the terminal is not more succesfull as the terminal suddenly close as fast as it open...

I tried to install the whole collection again, but no luck the problem is the same. I really don't know what happended and what should I do to correct it!

Please I'm completly mad about that game, hope I can finish it!
10-23-2010 03:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #2
Not Solved RE: the penumbra collection won't launch

open up a terminal and goto the game install directory and run the "./penumbra" or "./blackplague" script from the terminal.

And tell me what it does there? Also provide copies of your hpl.log files from the ~/.frictionalgames/Penumbra/Overture and ~/.frictionalgames/Penumbra/BlackPlague folders.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
10-23-2010 04:15 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gosthrider Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Not Solved RE: the penumbra collection won't launch

So, here what I got:


Segmentation fault
Penumbra: Black Plague exited unexpectedly, please check
/home/olivier/.frictionalgames/Penumbra/Black Plague/hpl.log
for any error messages
Also try running
ulimit -c unlimited
And re-running Penumbra and try and recreate the error
then submit the generated core file or stack trace

And here is my hpl.Log:

-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating resource managers
Misc Creation
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init low level graphics
Setting video mode: 1360 x 768 - 32 bpp
ERROR: Could not set display mode setting a lower one!
FATAL ERROR: Unable to initialize display!


Seems like I've got some video troubles.... Just need to figure out what's wrong!

Thanks for the support, It's a big help.
Okay, I found the problem. My nvidia driver are messed up.

Thanks for your help, you can close the topic!
(This post was last modified: 10-23-2010 06:40 PM by gosthrider.)
10-23-2010 06:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Image Verification
Please enter the text within the image on the left in to the text box below. This process is used to prevent automated posts.



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)