Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Importing Custom Entities
Author Message
elmstfreddie Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Importing Custom Entities

Alright, so, I made a custom entity using the model editor, and all I'm wondering is how to import it into my map.

Currently, I have all my map data in the amnesia dir/maps/MyMaps/[map name]/whatever.map simply so that I can run dev mode (I made my own folder in the maps dir so my stuff doesn't get mixed up with the game stuff)

I read another thread about modifying a LevelEditor.cfg file, which... for some reason doesn't exist, and, also I'm concerned about how others will be able to make use of my model (if I were to edit it, would it try to find the model in maps/MyMaps/ etc? Or would it be magical and find it lol)

PS: The model editor wiki really needs to have a section on actually importing it >.> Making it is pretty intuitive Wink
10-24-2010 03:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SLi78 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Importing Custom Entities

(10-24-2010 03:10 AM)elmstfreddie Wrote:  Alright, so, I made a custom entity using the model editor, and all I'm wondering is how to import it into my map.

Currently, I have all my map data in the amnesia dir/maps/MyMaps/[map name]/whatever.map simply so that I can run dev mode (I made my own folder in the maps dir so my stuff doesn't get mixed up with the game stuff)

I read another thread about modifying a LevelEditor.cfg file, which... for some reason doesn't exist, and, also I'm concerned about how others will be able to make use of my model (if I were to edit it, would it try to find the model in maps/MyMaps/ etc? Or would it be magical and find it lol)

PS: The model editor wiki really needs to have a section on actually importing it >.> Making it is pretty intuitive Wink

You should place your entity in the entities directory in on of the given directories

for example ...\redits\entities\special\"ownentitie"\ownentitie.ent

now you can pick up your entitie

that should work
10-24-2010 09:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
elmstfreddie Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Importing Custom Entities

cool, thanks, but where will I put it if I were to pack up the map and send it to a friend? Would they have to extract my entity into their main dir?
10-24-2010 06:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SLi78 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Importing Custom Entities

(10-24-2010 06:48 PM)elmstfreddie Wrote:  cool, thanks, but where will I put it if I were to pack up the map and send it to a friend? Would they have to extract my entity into their main dir?

Well, i don't know any other way as to copy the entitie

... but possible someone else knows a better way
10-24-2010 07:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)