Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Can not start my conversion mod
Krusti
Unregistered

 
#11
RE: Can not start my conversion mod

(07-31-2016, 10:21 PM)Mudbill Wrote: Hmm, okay I think there's some configuration issue still. Post your resources.cfg file please. Also, is it in the right place?

As of now, the resources.cfg is in the story root folder, and not inside config.

<Resources>
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/config" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/main_menu" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/maps" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/temp" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/fonts" AddSubDirs="false" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/textures" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/models" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/gui" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/static_objects" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/sounds" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/shaders" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/lights" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/billboards" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/entities" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/graphics" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/viewer" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/particles" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/models" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/music" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/flashbacks" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/FinalRevelations/voices" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/misc" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/commentary" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/custom_stories" AddSubDirs="true" />
</Resources>
07-31-2016, 11:24 PM
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,881
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 179
#12
RE: Can not start my conversion mod

Ah, I think you've misunderstood how the resources are supposed to be. You shouldn't remove / edit the lines that are already there, because your mod may still depend on some of the stock assets, and if they are no longer within this scope, the game won't find them. Only add new lines for your own mod. It's enough to add only 1 line at the top of your mod's folder name, because AddSubDirs will add everything underneath it.

PHP Code: (Select All)
<Resources>
  <
Directory Path="/FinalRevelations" AddSubDirs="true" />
  
  <
Directory Path="/_temp" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/fonts" AddSubDirs="false" />
  <
Directory Path="/maps" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/textures" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/models" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/gui" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/static_objects" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/sounds" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/main_menu" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/shaders" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/lights" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/billboards" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/entities" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/graphics" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/viewer" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/particles" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/models" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/music" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/flashbacks" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/textures" AddSubDirs="true" />    
  <
Directory Path="/misc" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/commentary" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/custom_stories" AddSubDirs="true" />
</
Resources

This should fix that. Also make sure that since it's in your mod's root folder, that this is in your main_init.cfg:

PHP Code: (Select All)
Resources "FinalRevelations/resources.cfg" 

(This post was last modified: 07-31-2016, 11:31 PM by Mudbill.)
07-31-2016, 11:29 PM
Find
Krusti
Unregistered

 
#13
RE: Can not start my conversion mod

(07-31-2016, 11:29 PM)Mudbill Wrote: Ah, I think you've misunderstood how the resources are supposed to be. You shouldn't remove / edit the lines that are already there, because your mod may still depend on some of the stock assets, and if they are no longer within this scope, the game won't find them. Only add new lines for your own mod. It's enough to add only 1 line at the top of your mod's folder name, because AddSubDirs will add everything underneath it.

PHP Code: (Select All)
<Resources>
  <
Directory Path="/FinalRevelations" AddSubDirs="true" />
  
  <
Directory Path="/_temp" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/fonts" AddSubDirs="false" />
  <
Directory Path="/maps" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/textures" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/models" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/gui" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/static_objects" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/sounds" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/main_menu" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/shaders" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/lights" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/billboards" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/entities" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/graphics" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/viewer" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/particles" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/models" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/music" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/flashbacks" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/textures" AddSubDirs="true" />    
  <
Directory Path="/misc" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/commentary" AddSubDirs="true" />
  <
Directory Path="/custom_stories" AddSubDirs="true" />
</
Resources

This should fix that. Also make sure that since it's in your mod's root folder, that this is in your main_init.cfg:

PHP Code: (Select All)
Resources "FinalRevelations/resources.cfg" 

Yes! Finally it worked to launch via steam with the main.init and the mod seems to work like intented.

Thanks for your quick responses and help! Appreciates it a lot Smile.
08-01-2016, 12:50 AM
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,881
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 179
#14
RE: Can not start my conversion mod

At last we finally fixed it! Glad I could be of help. Good luck!

08-01-2016, 08:09 AM
Find
Romulator Offline
Not Tech Support ;-)

Posts: 3,628
Threads: 63
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 195
#15
RE: Can not start my conversion mod

Since this has been marked as Solved, I'm moving it over to the Development Support subforum, since Technical Support is for dealing with Amnesia itself, not necessarily Custom Stories.

But I'm glad you got this solved, since there has been issues in the past about the SDL2 errors. (Perhaps the template on the wiki needs to be updated? Smile )

Moving, but not closing, since this is an ongoing issue for other users also.

Discord: Romulator#0001
[Image: 3f6f01a904.png]
08-01-2016, 09:24 AM
Find
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,881
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 179
#16
RE: Can not start my conversion mod

Yep, I already updated the template.

(07-31-2016, 12:15 PM)Mudbill Wrote: I'll head on over and update the template.

08-01-2016, 09:29 AM
Find
Romulator Offline
Not Tech Support ;-)

Posts: 3,628
Threads: 63
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 195
#17
RE: Can not start my conversion mod

Whoops, missed that. Tongue

Discord: Romulator#0001
[Image: 3f6f01a904.png]
08-01-2016, 11:39 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)