Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Sound
Homicide13 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 323
Threads: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 14
#1
Sound

So, I made a sound node in my level, and set the "active" check box unchecked... but the sound still plays when the map starts up. D:
It doesn't make any sense to have a burning sound when there is no fire...
Anybody else have a similar problem? or know how to fix it?

Pretty much what I want to do is keep the sound off but turn it on at a certain point in the game. (I know how to turn it on, I'm just having problems making sure it's not running when I don't want it to be... :/)

11-07-2010, 08:55 AM
Find
anzki Offline
Member

Posts: 88
Threads: 6
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1
#2
RE: Sound

For sounds you should use PlaySoundAtEntity fuction, not the SetEntityActive.

[Image: 2qnr5av.png]
11-07-2010, 11:48 AM
Find
Homicide13 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 323
Threads: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 14
#3
RE: Sound

well I'm currently using
FadeInSound("Sound_2",0.5f,false);
but that's not what i'm having a problem with, i'm having a problem with the sound not being quiet when the map starts. I would use the PlaySoundAtEntity function, but I want a smaller radius than is default (to prevent it from going through some walls... x3) and I don't think I can configure that with code....

(This post was last modified: 11-07-2010, 06:27 PM by Homicide13.)
11-07-2010, 06:26 PM
Find
anzki Offline
Member

Posts: 88
Threads: 6
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1
#4
RE: Sound

Don't use sound things.(Those that are in map editor.) They will be active right in the beginning no matter if it's set inactive. To make a sound activate on middle of level, use PlaySoundAtEntity.

[Image: 2qnr5av.png]
11-07-2010, 06:33 PM
Find
Homicide13 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 323
Threads: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 14
#5
RE: Sound

(11-07-2010, 06:33 PM)anzki Wrote: Don't use sound things.(Those that are in map editor.) They will be active right in the beginning no matter if it's set inactive. To make a sound activate on middle of level, use PlaySoundAtEntity.

So in other words there is no way to set the radius of a sound smaller than the default (if it's not running when the map starts)?

11-07-2010, 08:05 PM
Find
Stangi Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Threads: 3
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: Sound

Quote:So in other words there is no way to set the radius of a sound smaller than the default (if it's not running when the map starts)?

You can edit the .snt file to change the radius and other settings for the sound.
(This post was last modified: 11-07-2010, 09:12 PM by Stangi.)
11-07-2010, 09:11 PM
Find
Homicide13 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 323
Threads: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 14
#7
RE: Sound

Hmm, that would mean that anybody playing my map would have to also unpack extra files. Well, I guess it depends on how big/serious this project becomes. Tongue

11-07-2010, 10:19 PM
Find
anzki Offline
Member

Posts: 88
Threads: 6
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1
#8
RE: Sound

You can just include them in your custom story folder. They are not so big.
Make a folder called Sound inside it and place all those custom snt's there. Also you can decide it's name, and I would recommend to change it. (I am not sure how game reacts if you have two sound files with same name.)

[Image: 2qnr5av.png]
(This post was last modified: 11-08-2010, 10:39 AM by anzki.)
11-08-2010, 10:37 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)