Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Game won't init steam on 10.6
Author Message
XBOX360 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Not Solved Game won't init steam on 10.6

Quote:[S_API FAIL] SteamAPI_Init() failed; ipcserver init failed .
[S_API FAIL] SteamAPI_Init() failed; unable to locate a running instance of Steam, or a local steamclient.dylib.

"Could not init steam!"

My Steam ID is BSODM if relevant
(This post was last modified: 08-31-2017 09:27 PM by XBOX360.)
08-31-2017 09:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Romulator Offline
G'day mate! :3

Posts: 3,445
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 190
Post: #2
Not Solved RE: Game won't init steam on 10.6

Have you tried restarting Steam, or turning your computer off and on again?

Discord: Romulator#4942
09-01-2017 04:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
XBOX360 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Not Solved RE: Game won't init steam on 10.6

I don't know - is the Steam version even supposed to work on 10.6. Like after all Steam has ended support for anything below 10.7


However the system requirements on the Steam page lists as minimum Mac OS X 10.5.8
(This post was last modified: 09-03-2017 06:55 AM by XBOX360.)
09-03-2017 06:49 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,523
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #4
Not Solved RE: Game won't init steam on 10.6

In that case it might be an issue with Steam and not the game, and if so I don't think there's much we can do. Had the game been a retail copy it might've worked better since it wouldn't be dependent on Steam.

Are you able to run all other games on your current setup? I imagine some of them work fine, and that some specific functionality in the Steam client is what isn't supported, which it could look like Amnesia is using.

(This post was last modified: 09-04-2017 11:58 AM by Mudbill.)
09-04-2017 11:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Romulator Offline
G'day mate! :3

Posts: 3,445
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 190
Post: #5
Not Solved RE: Game won't init steam on 10.6

If the Mac Steam version has since been updated, there may be a Amnesia_NoSteam application you can run in the game's root, else it is likely an issue with Steam as Mudbill has said. As a Windows user, when it does occur for me, I end up resetting Steam's background service or by closing and reopening Steam by going offline and online again. What appears to be happening is that Amnesia is checking to see if Steam is running, and cancelling it from running if it seems Steam is not running.

Beyond what has already been suggested, if it is possible to reinstall Steam in case some dependancies have become corrupt or missing, that would be my next step. From there, I can't really offer much more help because I don't believe it to be an issue with Amnesia itself.

Discord: Romulator#4942
09-05-2017 07:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
XBOX360 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Not Solved RE: Game won't init steam on 10.6

Additionally there is no way to run like this on PowerMAC.
Today 08:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Please answer:



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)