Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

[Solved]Demo crashes to black box
manveruppd Offline

Threads: 1
Solved: 8 Years, 1 Month ago [Solved]Demo crashes to black box

Hi, I installed the demo (and the fixed .exe from the other thread), and, on the first run, the game launched just fine. However, the first thing I did before I started playing was go into the options menu and crank all sound and video settings to max. This was evidently not a good idea, as, when I closed and relaunched the game, it would crash and bring up the bug reporting tool immediately, before even getting to the startup logos.

I figured that I must've set something in the game's settings which isn't supported by my system, so the crashing must be my fault. Since I couldn't find a "safe mode" launcher or a /safemode or similar command line modifier to launch the game without my settings taking effect, I decided to just uninstall and reinstall. I did so, but it still didn't work: the game would still immediately crash me to the bug reporter immediately after launching.

I therefore uninstalled again, but, this time, before reinstalling, I launched regedit and deleted every reference to "penumbra" in the registry, in case my modified settings were taking effect because of one of those leftover registry keys. I then reinstalled, but, again, the game crashed immediately in exactly the same way.