Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Newbie needs help! [SOLVED]
pwnvader360 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Newbie needs help! [SOLVED]

As you can probably tell, I'm a newbie to scripting in the HPL Amnesia Level Editor. What I want to happen is the Player collides with ScriptArea_1, and the grunt behind the door becomes active and follows the PathNode. Once the grunt has reached the last PathNode, I want him to become inactive.

I have created EXTREMELY basic scripts before, but never could advance from there. Would it hurt to make the script and explain it to me for future reference?
(This post was last modified: 01-13-2011, 06:22 PM by pwnvader360.)
01-12-2011, 06:37 PM
Find
Tottel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 307
Threads: 9
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
#2
RE: Newbie needs help!

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tut...y_tutorial
01-12-2011, 06:39 PM
Find
Seragath Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 34
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Newbie needs help!

I say try first, then ask later. Lets see if I can make it work anyway. (New and thirsty for scripting.)


void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_1", "Monster", true, 1);
}

void Monster(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER" , true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER", "NAME OF YOUR PATHNODE", 0, "");
}

Something like this ? O.O
01-12-2011, 06:45 PM
Find
pwnvader360 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: Newbie needs help!

(01-12-2011, 06:39 PM)Tottel Wrote: http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tut...y_tutorial

To see if it would work, I entered the script that gives the player a lantern on start, and...failure. Why is this. If thats not what the script does, then what DOES it do?

In case you need to know, heres the code:
////////////////////////////
// Run first time starting map
void OnStart()
{  
   GiveItemFromFile("lantern", "lantern.ent");

   for(int i=0;i<10;i++) GiveItemFromFile("tinderbox_"+i, "tinderbox.ent");    
}

////////////////////////////
// Run when entering map
void OnEnter()
{

}

////////////////////////////
// Run when leaving map
void OnLeave()
{

}
01-12-2011, 06:45 PM
Find
Tottel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 307
Threads: 9
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Newbie needs help!

Well, what exactly is the error?
01-12-2011, 06:47 PM
Find
pwnvader360 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: Newbie needs help!

(01-12-2011, 06:45 PM)Seragath Wrote: I say try first, then ask later. Lets see if I can make it work anyway. (New and thirsty for scripting.)


void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_1", "Monster", true, 1);
}

void Monster(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER" , true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER", "NAME OF YOUR PATHNODE", 0, "");
}

Something like this ? O.O

For the pathnode script, do I make a script for every pathnode?
01-12-2011, 06:48 PM
Find
Seragath Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 34
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: Newbie needs help!

I haven't used pathnode that much but from what I know is that it's possible. for example

void Monster(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER" , true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER", "NAME OF YOUR PATHNODE", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER", "NAME OF YOUR PATHNODE2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER", "NAME OF YOUR PATHNODE3", 0, "");
}

etc etc
01-12-2011, 06:52 PM
Find
pwnvader360 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: Newbie needs help!

(01-12-2011, 06:47 PM)Tottel Wrote: Well, what exactly is the error?

The problem is, I insert the code (and trust me, the .hps file is in the correct location with the correct file name) and when I test it in Amnesia, it tells me that I need to find a lantern before one can be turned on.
01-12-2011, 07:26 PM
Find
Tottel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 307
Threads: 9
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: Newbie needs help!

This is on a custom map, right? One that you play as a custom story?
01-12-2011, 07:45 PM
Find
pwnvader360 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
#10
RE: Newbie needs help!

(01-12-2011, 06:52 PM)Seragath Wrote: I haven't used pathnode that much but from what I know is that it's possible. for example

void Monster(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER" , true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER", "NAME OF YOUR PATHNODE", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER", "NAME OF YOUR PATHNODE2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("NAME OF YOUR MONSTER", "NAME OF YOUR PATHNODE3", 0, "");
}

etc etc

I tried that and nothing happened. Here's the code:
void OnStart()
     {
        AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_1", "Monster", true, 1);
     }
    
     void Monster(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
        {
            SetEntityActive("servant_grunt_1", true);
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_1", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_3", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_4", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_5", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_6", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_7", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_8", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_9", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_10", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_11", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_12", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_13", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_14", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_15", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_16", 0, "");
            AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_grunt_1", "PathNodeArea_17", 0, "");
            SetEntityActive("servant_grunt_1", false);
        }

void OnEnter()
     {
        
     }

void OnLeave()
     {
        
     }

(01-12-2011, 07:45 PM)Tottel Wrote: This is on a custom map, right? One that you play as a custom story?

Yes it is. I named it Test Map.
Anyone help meh...?Sad
(This post was last modified: 01-12-2011, 08:12 PM by pwnvader360.)
01-12-2011, 07:45 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)