Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Possible to make sanity only work for enemys
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#11
RE: Possible to make sanity only work for enemys

The dissolve texture in the core folder might be what's doing it, but I'm not sure. There probably is some applied texture doing it. Also:


<Player_Darkness

MinLightLevel = "0.15"

RadiusAdd = "3"

AmbientLightMinLightLevel = "0.2"
AmbientLightRadius = "6.5"
AmbientLightIntensity = "0.32"
AmbientLightFadeInTime = "2.8"
AmbientLightFadeOutTime = "2.3"
AmbientLightColor = "0.5 0.5 1 0"

LoopSoundFile = "player_darkness.ogg"
LoopSoundVolume = "0.2"
LoopSoundStartupTime = "1.0"
LoopSoundFadeInSpeed = "0.05"
LoopSoundFadeOutSpeed = "0.4"

SanityLossPerSecond = "0.2"

This is in the game.cfg.
03-25-2011, 05:20 AM
Find
Shev Offline
Member

Posts: 238
Threads: 25
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
#12
RE: Possible to make sanity only work for enemys

(03-25-2011, 05:20 AM)MrBigzy Wrote: The dissolve texture in the core folder might be what's doing it, but I'm not sure. There probably is some applied texture doing it. Also:


<Player_Darkness

MinLightLevel = "0.15"

RadiusAdd = "3"

AmbientLightMinLightLevel = "0.2"
AmbientLightRadius = "6.5"
AmbientLightIntensity = "0.32"
AmbientLightFadeInTime = "2.8"
AmbientLightFadeOutTime = "2.3"
AmbientLightColor = "0.5 0.5 1 0"

LoopSoundFile = "player_darkness.ogg"
LoopSoundVolume = "0.2"
LoopSoundStartupTime = "1.0"
LoopSoundFadeInSpeed = "0.05"
LoopSoundFadeOutSpeed = "0.4"

SanityLossPerSecond = "0.2"

This is in the game.cfg.

Yeah this seems to be how your character acts while in the darkness, thanks for posting this.

It also might include the sanity thing to anyone who wants to use this threads info in the future
<Player_Sanity

HitZoomInSpeed = ""
HitZoomOutSpeed = ""
HitZoomInFOVMul = "0.06"
HitZoomInAspectMul = "0.15"

SanityRegainSpeed = "0.75"
SanityRegainLimit = "100"

SanityVeryLowLimit = "20"
SanityEffectsStart = "65"

SanityWaveAlphaMul = "1"
SanityWaveSpeedMul = "1"

CheckNearEnemyInterval = "0.3"

NearEnemyDecrease = "0.3"
NearCritterDecrease = "0.1"

StartSwayMaxSanity = "15"
SwayMaxSavedPositions = "30"

SanityLowLimit = "30"
SanityLowLimitMaxTime = "300"
SanityLowNewSanityAmount = "40"

LightLampMinSanityIncrease = "0.1"
LightLampMaxSanityIncrease = "5"
/>

i spam meme 4 raeg
(This post was last modified: 03-25-2011, 08:48 PM by Shev.)
03-25-2011, 04:07 PM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#13
RE: Possible to make sanity only work for enemys

Anyone played with these Player_Darkness settings? Changes I made causes CTD :/

04-28-2011, 06:41 AM
Website Find
Apjjm Offline
Is easy to say

Posts: 496
Threads: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 52
#14
RE: Possible to make sanity only work for enemys

Couldn't you just have used a massive box light with a low alpha or something to make the game think you were standing in a light?
(This post was last modified: 04-28-2011, 11:02 AM by Apjjm.)
04-28-2011, 11:02 AM
Find
Dalroc Offline
Member

Posts: 57
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#15
RE: Possible to make sanity only work for enemys

(04-28-2011, 11:02 AM)Apjjm Wrote: Couldn't you just have used a massive box light with a low alpha or something to make the game think you were standing in a light?
This would affect the night-vision and other things as well.
No the best is a full conversion where you remove all the sanity effects except for when you look at monsters.
04-28-2011, 02:04 PM
Find
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
#16
RE: Possible to make sanity only work for enemys

You know that you can always, try this:

SetSanityDrainDisabled(bool abX);

But then enable it again once you want the player to lose sanity like from the monster you were refering to.

04-28-2011, 02:14 PM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#17
RE: Possible to make sanity only work for enemys

It's not sanity thing. It's night vision I want to change. I want to completely disable it. And 'massive box light' is not the solution I seek.
Whatever I do, it keeps opening the vision and make it clear what is in the shadows. In other settings, game keeps crashing.

04-28-2011, 03:00 PM
Website Find
Dalroc Offline
Member

Posts: 57
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#18
RE: Possible to make sanity only work for enemys

(04-28-2011, 03:00 PM)Tanshaydar Wrote: It's not sanity thing. It's night vision I want to change. I want to completely disable it. And 'massive box light' is not the solution I seek.
Whatever I do, it keeps opening the vision and make it clear what is in the shadows. In other settings, game keeps crashing.
Oh I did that for my story, just set AmbientLightIntensity = "0" in the Player_Darkness part of the config.cfg
(This post was last modified: 04-28-2011, 03:03 PM by Dalroc.)
04-28-2011, 03:03 PM
Find
Josh707 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 27
Threads: 5
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#19
RE: Possible to make sanity only work for enemys

(03-25-2011, 04:59 AM)Shev Wrote: You know what I've come back to this project, and am just going to scrap sanity for it all together. Is there like a way to disable it completely (screen moving and all?)

Yes!
SetSanityDrainDisabled(bool abX);

Try my custom story demo here!
Updated 23/04/11
04-29-2011, 03:39 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)