Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How do I make a monster appear after I read a note?
Trucido Offline

Threads: 1
Question  How do I make a monster appear after I read a note?

Hi, I am currently new with mapping and all and so far I can only make walls, ceiling, props etc. So I was wondering how do I make a monster to appear after I read a note? And how to I make a note anyways? I do not know anything about triggers and scripts so please explain how simply you can!

Big Grin

Thx for reading!

Rolleyes
02-08-2011, 07:41 PM
Find
Vradcly Offline

Threads: 6
RE: How do I make a monster appear after I read a note?

first create a Callback inside the OnStart() section of you map script. (I am assuming that you have set up everything needed for development...). The callback should be something like this one:
SetEntityCallbackFunc("note_generic_1","note_pickup1");

It makes the function note_pickup1 run when you pickup the note named note_generic_1

Then you have to define note_pickup1, put it outside of your OnStart() OnEnter() and OnLeave():
void note_pickup1(string& asName, string& asCallback)
{
//Put the thing you want to happen here, in your case, activate monster:
SetEntityActive("servant_grunt_1" , true); //true is active, false is not active, servant_grunt_1 is //the name of the monster
}

Ill post the rest (how you make the note text show) later if noone else helps you...Hope that will make the monster come running for you at least Smile.
02-08-2011, 07:51 PM
Find
Trucido Offline

Ok thanks for that, a little blurry still but I might be able to fix it. Because I am working on a "barricade" map where you read a note the monster will appear and you've been barricading the room (like in Daniel's room in the game) but as I said it will only work if you read the note.
02-08-2011, 07:54 PM
Find
Vradcly Offline

Threads: 6