Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Exporting animations from maya [solved] look here!
Author Message
Acies Online
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,608
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 66
Post: #1
Exporting animations from maya [solved] look here!

New issue:
Some of us have sucessfully imported the animations to 3ds max, and can play them there. However when exporting them and viewing them in modelview issues arise. Maya also seems to have some problems with the animations.

We are looking for help from the devs, information on how & what program(s) was/were used to make the animations.

Refer to page 3 for further information on the discussion.

---------------------------------------------- old part ---------------------------------------------------
Hi! I'm out fumbling in the dark. I realise this is a question with an answer of large content, but if people with knowledge could point me to tutorials describing the general execution as well as describing specifics concerning amnesia modeling in particular that would be very helpful.

I'm trying to create a monster with new animations. I have tried out 3ds max, installing collada and opening the grunt model in 3ds. But I don't know how to continue.

Second question, is it easy to replace the mesh/texture/skin of the model or somehow edit it?

Should I consider editing in an other program because it's more simple or should I take my time to learn 3ds max?

EDIT: Is it possible to have more than the original number of enemies or does my new one have to replace the old grunt?

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


(This post was last modified: 05-01-2011 01:27 AM by Acies.)
04-18-2011 02:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #2
RE: Editing animations of enemies

You can have as many enemies as you want. If you want to see the grunt animations, you need to rename the dae_anim files to dae, and then open them to see that specific animation.

The mesh you can make small tweaks using different tools in 3ds max, like the new polygon graphite tools in 3ds. The texture, well you'll need to edit the texture, and have some experience with interpreting UV maps.
04-18-2011 04:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nkmol Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 252
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #3
RE: Editing animations of enemies

i think i already readed a tuturiol about this, hmmm. (though to lazy to search for)
My problem whith this was, that my 3DS max didn't loaded the .dae animation like it suppose to be Tongue it was all mixed up, he was moving like a ... doll that's dancing whith his arms Confused
anyway, i didn't try this whith blender or maya Tongue
anyone got this problem too? (this is only whith animation, normal .dae works fine Wink)
(This post was last modified: 04-18-2011 05:48 PM by nkmol.)
04-18-2011 05:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Acies Online
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,608
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 66
Post: #4
RE: Editing animations of enemies

Thank you MrBigzy. However, I didn't see an animation. Merely a grunt standing still in the middle of movement.

Guess I'll have to spend time learning 3ds max. Something I've always wanted, but a bit tedious.

What do I need to do to add a new enemy? I copied & renamed all the files in the grunt folder, but it does not show up as a new pickable enemy in the level editor.

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


(This post was last modified: 04-18-2011 06:35 PM by Acies.)
04-18-2011 06:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nkmol Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 252
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #5
RE: Editing animations of enemies

try to rename it whith the model editor. So open the original monster that you want to edit in the model editor and Save As a new name .
04-18-2011 07:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Acies Online
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,608
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 66
Post: #6
RE: Editing animations of enemies

Didn't work, can't see the difference Smile Have you gotten it to work nkmol?

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


04-18-2011 07:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nkmol Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 252
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #7
RE: Editing animations of enemies

well i made a new monster, yes. i openend model editor and edited my monster. I just added some light to the monster Tongue and then i saved it as the name of the other files. started my level editor again and it was in my entities list Smile
[Image: unled1ec.png]

[Image: unleduc.png]
04-18-2011 08:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #8
RE: Editing animations of enemies

The tutorial for creating new models is here: http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tut...loutsource

Also, you first have to open the model in the model viewer to make a .mat file, and then import it into the model editor to create the mesh file. And then you have to set the variables and/or body in the model editor.

Also, did you press the play button in 3ds max on the bottom right for the animations?
04-18-2011 09:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Acies Online
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,608
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 66
Post: #9
RE: Editing animations of enemies

Thank you both. Now I'll try some stuff and see what I come up with. As you may well notice I have little clue of what I am doing in 3ds max. If it doesn't solve itself from here its due to my lack of knowledge of how to use 3ds and then I'll resort to tutorials.

You appear to be knowledgeable of 3ds MrBigzy, so would it be okay if I pmed you if I got stuck?

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


04-18-2011 11:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #10
RE: Editing animations of enemies

Sure. I really don't know a whole lot yet, just basic modelling and UV maps and materials. But I learn quick. xD
04-18-2011 11:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)