Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Note Text not appearing.[SOLVED]
Author Message
Lambda Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 39
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
RE: Note Text not appearing.

It was showing up before, and it still shows up.

Khaaaan!
05-04-2011 11:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Russ Money Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 360
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 4
Post: #12
RE: Note Text not appearing.

Then the problem most likely isn't with the .lang file, usually if there's an error with the .lang file, nothing will show up. Are you sure everything is named and the entities are correct in the map editor?

05-04-2011 11:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Karai16 Offline
Member

Posts: 164
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
RE: Note Text not appearing.

(05-04-2011 11:50 AM)Lambda Wrote:  It was showing up before, and it still shows up.

This might sound weird, but try to put spaces between your text, and the entry tab so:
<CATEGORY Name="Journal">
        <Entry Name="Note_note1_Name"> Changes </Entry>
        <Entry Name="Note_note1_Text"> My name is Hermann Ronalds, and these are my final words in case i dont stay alive.[br] My servants and family, have... turned on me somehow.[br]They used to be friendly people, but when i went to the sitting room when i woke up, one of them was there.[br] Not a friendly face, but a horrible shadow of a man. It was like he rose from the dead.[br] Luckily, he didn't see me. I ran back to my room, and I am going to try to escape this house. </Entry>
    </CATEGORY>
I've noticed before that it sometimes wouldn't show text, if the spaces aren't there...

Custom stories:
Her Games (100% Complete)
Her Games, All Bugs Fixed (100% Complete)
05-04-2011 11:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Lambda Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 39
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
RE: Note Text not appearing.

I am trying that now.

And Russ Money: Yes, i'm sure.
__EDIT__

Guess what?
No effect. :3
Even though it isn't solved so far, i wanna thank you guys for putting time in this.

Khaaaan!
(This post was last modified: 05-04-2011 12:11 PM by Lambda.)
05-04-2011 12:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Roenlond Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 331
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
RE: Note Text not appearing.

I tried to add a note using your extra_english.lang file, and I got it to work without changing anything there. So, it must be your entity. Would you mind uploading a screenshot of your entity tab? Smile
05-04-2011 02:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Lambda Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 39
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
RE: Note Text not appearing.

Here:
http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/3184/enytab.png
By the way, i changed it from "note1" to "note" earlier.
And if it IS my entity tab, it'll be Lol'ing the rest of the night :3

Khaaaan!
05-04-2011 07:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Simpanra Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 314
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
RE: Note Text not appearing.

OH MY GOD!!!!! I KNOW WHAT YOU DID WRONG! XD

You need to put "note" in the custem sub item type field (the one directly above the note text field you put it in! xD)
(This post was last modified: 05-04-2011 07:22 PM by Simpanra.)
05-04-2011 07:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Roenlond Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 331
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
RE: Note Text not appearing.

(05-04-2011 07:20 PM)Simpanra Wrote:  OH MY GOD!!!!! I KNOW WHAT YOU DID WRONG! XD

You need to put "note" in the custem sub item type field (the one directly above the note text field you put it in! xD)

I don't think you need to do that, I have never needed to.

About your problem, I can't really see anything wrong with it... Only thing I can think of is that you are loading from a cache as said before, are other changes showing up?
(This post was last modified: 05-04-2011 07:28 PM by Roenlond.)
05-04-2011 07:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Simpanra Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 314
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
RE: Note Text not appearing.

(05-04-2011 07:28 PM)Roenlond Wrote:  
(05-04-2011 07:20 PM)Simpanra Wrote:  OH MY GOD!!!!! I KNOW WHAT YOU DID WRONG! XD

You need to put "note" in the custem sub item type field (the one directly above the note text field you put it in! xD)

I don't think you need to do that, I have never needed to.

About your problem, I can't really see anything wrong with it... Only thing I can think of is that you are loading from a cache as said before, are other changes showing up?

trust me, that is the problem, the .lang file looks in the custom sub item type name box for the reference between map entities and scripting within the .lang, hover over that box, it even says so =)
05-04-2011 07:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Lambda Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 39
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
RE: Note Text not appearing.

No changes.

But, Simpandra, your solution worked!
Thanks guys!

Khaaaan!
05-04-2011 07:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)