Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Just need some help scripting, im a beginner
willochill Offline

Threads: 27
Just need some help scripting, im a beginner

okay, so im like a complete noob at scripting, like i'm stumped with a lot of stuff. I have an area in my map. In this area, when the player walks by, I want a grunt to be alerted, but ONLY if the player has a certain item in the inventory. How would I script this? (let's call the area Area1 and the item Item1). thx, im just stumped here.
05-26-2011, 04:02 AM
Find
triadtimes Offline

Threads: 16
RE: Just need some help scripting, im a beginner

The way I did it awhile back was this:

In the OnStart I had this:
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "Area1", "FunctionName", false, 1);

And the actual function looked like this:
void FunctionName(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
    if(HasItem("Item1") == true)
    {
        //DO STUFF HERE
    }
}

What would happen is the function would trigger every time the Player walks past but a certain action wouldn't be taken until the Player has Item1. (Depending on the action you may also need to put a variable in to stop it from happening more than once.)

(This post was last modified: 05-26-2011, 05:02 PM by triadtimes.)
05-26-2011, 04:56 AM
Find
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 36
RE: Just need some help scripting, im a beginner

(05-26-2011, 04:02 AM)willochill Wrote: okay, so im like a complete noob at scripting, like i'm stumped with a lot of stuff. I have an area in my map. In this area, when the player walks by, I want a grunt to be alerted, but ONLY if the player has a certain item in the inventory. How would I script this? (let's call the area Area1 and the item Item1). thx, im just stumped here.

void OnStart()
{
    AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "Area1", "Func01", false, 1);
}