Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Two Unrelated Questions
Beargasm Offline

Threads: 1
Two Unrelated Questions

Hello Frictional Games forums!

I just started working with the HLP2 engine yesterday, and the tutorials and wiki pages have been very helpful in teaching me how to use the editor. I usually don't post on forums asking for help, but after reading through many threads here over the past two days and seeing how helpful and friendly this community is, I figured I'd take a shot at it.

Question 1:
I'm very new to scripting and was hoping that somebody could tell me how to make it so that when a person steps into an area, it starts or stops playing a sound.

Question 2: I have put down six chairs in two rows, but when I open the game they are floating an inch or two off the ground. Was wondering if anybody knew how to fix this.

Thanks in advance.
06-02-2011, 12:34 AM
Find
Khyrpa Offline

Threads: 10
RE: Two Unrelated Questions

I assume you know what OnStart() means...
Put this inside it:
AddEntityCollideCallback(string& asParentName, string& asChildName, string& asFunction, bool abDeleteOnCollide, int alStates);

all those string & blablah weird names may look like gibberish but ima try to explain those here nao!

what AddEntityCollideCallback really does is = when specified 2 "things" go in, out or both, some function is called (those can be specified in it). So when you want the player step into area, you put "Player" in the string& asParentName and "*the name of your area*" in the string& asChildName, so this checks when you = player collide with the area.