Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Questions for Frictional Games
Author Message
TFEF Offline
Member

Posts: 143
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #11
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

Answers to the questions above:

1. Not sure, but I think so. Can't tell you how, though.
2. No. You might want to look into Penumbra/HPL1 stuff if you're into that. Big Grin
06-14-2011 04:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
Post: #12
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

For second question, try to have a look at Zimmerman's House chapter.

06-14-2011 04:57 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Doctorcheese Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 272
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

(06-14-2011 04:57 AM)Tanshaydar Wrote:  For second question, try to have a look at Zimmerman's House chapter.

Yeah, isn't that whole ground a model?

''Sick, twisted child... You'll burn for this!''
06-14-2011 11:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nemesis567 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 874
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #14
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

A floor is a simple model. I?m talking about a whole level made in max and imported into amnesia

Today I dreamt the life I could live forever. You only know that when you feel it for you know not what you like until you've experienced it.
06-14-2011 02:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Russ Money Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 360
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 4
Post: #15
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

(06-14-2011 02:09 PM)nemesis567 Wrote:  A floor is a simple model. I?m talking about a whole level made in max and imported into amnesia

edit: scratch that

Well, there is a tunnel model in the editor that the player is suppose to crawl around in, I see no problem with the whole level being a model.

(This post was last modified: 06-14-2011 02:14 PM by Russ Money.)
06-14-2011 02:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nemesis567 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 874
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #16
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

Am I wrong or was Penumbra done like that?

Today I dreamt the life I could live forever. You only know that when you feel it for you know not what you like until you've experienced it.
06-14-2011 02:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
Post: #17
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

(06-14-2011 02:16 PM)nemesis567 Wrote:  Am I wrong or was Penumbra done like that?

Yes, Penumbra is done like that. You can see .dae files in maps folder.

06-14-2011 09:51 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Modular100 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 35
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

(06-14-2011 02:26 AM)nemesis567 Wrote:  -Can you create a whole level in maya and import it as a single model and run the level efficiently?

In my opinion it should work fine, but count with some generous loading time and lag on a slower computer...

06-14-2011 09:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nemesis567 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 874
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #19
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

tbh, I'm not seriously going to create a new level wall by wall, it's a lot easier to create it whole in happy maya

Today I dreamt the life I could live forever. You only know that when you feel it for you know not what you like until you've experienced it.
06-14-2011 10:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
palistov Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,208
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 57
Post: #20
RE: Questions for Frictional Games

For keys, just keep track of the internal names of the keys and do if(HasItem("key1")) //stuff here, etc

06-14-2011 11:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)