Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Fresh Meat Help.
Author Message
Krimbo Offline
Member

Posts: 53
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Fresh Meat Help.

Hey guys.

I'm a 17 year old 3D designer, still at college.
I'm not too sure which path I want to take in turns of media, commercial, games, etc.
But I want to give it a go making my own custom story for amnesia.
Anyway, this thread will be my blog for you lot.
I'll post progress and ask for advice on things.

I've already run into my first problem.
I've downloaded the tools, but whenever I open any of the .exe files, it gives me a message saying SDL.dll is not found on my machine.
What does that mean? Tongue

Thanks Blush
06-13-2011 02:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
Post: #2
RE: Fresh Meat Help.

You should extract the files into the root folder of Amnesia. Root folder is where your Amnesia.exe is.

06-13-2011 02:14 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Krimbo Offline
Member

Posts: 53
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Fresh Meat Help.

(06-13-2011 02:14 PM)Tanshaydar Wrote:  You should extract the files into the root folder of Amnesia. Root folder is where your Amnesia.exe is.

Oh god.
What a noob I feel already Sad
06-13-2011 02:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Krimbo Offline
Member

Posts: 53
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Fresh Meat Help.

Ok so I've got it all working.
Made a little area as a test.
Want to quickly bung it into Amnesia to play it.
How to I save the map playable in Amnesia?
Cheers Smile
06-13-2011 03:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
Post: #5
RE: Fresh Meat Help.

You might want to setup a developer environment to test your maps.
http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/amn...evenvguide

06-13-2011 04:03 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Krimbo Offline
Member

Posts: 53
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Fresh Meat Help.

Ok I followed the Developer environment.
Upon opening the game it gives me;

"FATAL ERROR: Could not load world file 'custom_stories/Test.map'"

Any help? Smile
06-13-2011 05:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
Post: #7
RE: Fresh Meat Help.

You may entered the wrong path for maps folder.

(This post was last modified: 06-13-2011 05:22 PM by Tanshaydar.)
06-13-2011 05:13 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Doctorcheese Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 272
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Fresh Meat Help.

(06-13-2011 05:09 PM)Krimbo Wrote:  Ok I followed the Developer environment.
Upon opening the game it gives me;

"FATAL ERROR: Could not load world file 'custom_stories/Test.map'"

Any help? Smile

Yeah I think the path is incorrect.

''Sick, twisted child... You'll burn for this!''
06-13-2011 05:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Krimbo Offline
Member

Posts: 53
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Fresh Meat Help.

I've got the Map file set up as My_Map.map an the Map folder as MyMaps/

Isn't that correct?
06-13-2011 07:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
Post: #10
RE: Fresh Meat Help.

Could you send your user_settings.cfg?
Also, placing maps in maps/MyMaps folder in root folder would be better.

06-13-2011 07:26 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)