Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Making my first level!
Zypherzemus Offline
Member

Posts: 94
Threads: 7
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#21
RE: Making my first level!

(07-09-2011, 12:32 AM)christopher231 Wrote: thats the thing i have that and it still doesnt work Sad

Wow, hmm..
so the .map file and the .hps file have the same exact name?
you have a simple .lang file in custom_stories>"the name of your story" folder? not in the maps folder.
do you have a .cfg file?
(that might be the problem right there)
07-09-2011, 12:40 AM
Find
Angerpull Offline
Member

Posts: 88
Threads: 24
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#22
RE: Making my first level!

(07-08-2011, 07:57 AM)christopher231 Wrote: ok so my .hps looks like that ^^^
what else do i need now?
(just so you know i am new to this )

The reason you cannot run your map is because you haven't saved it's Starting location. Copy and paste this with your map folder. Not inside it!

Spoiler below!
<Main
ImgFile = "YOURPICTUREHERE.png"
Name = "THE NAME OF YOUR MAP "
Author = "YOUR NAME"

MapsFolder = "maps/"
StartMap = "YOURMAPNAME.map"
StartPos = "PlayerStart"
/>

If you do it correctly it should work. And it MUST be a CFG file.



07-09-2011, 12:49 AM
Find
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
#23
RE: Making my first level!

@Angerpull;

It has to be called "custom_story_settings.cfg", to add on that. :3

07-09-2011, 12:51 AM
Find
christopher231 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 26
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#24
RE: Making my first level!

nevermind IT WORKS NOW Big Grin
i think i need to use that code that you showed me kyle!!
thanks alot Big Grin
07-09-2011, 01:01 AM
Find
christopher231 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 26
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#25
RE: Making my first level!

another thing, i watched this vid telling you how to make the extra_english.lang.
but for some odd reason its not working for me can some one help aging ???
thanks
07-09-2011, 07:57 AM
Find
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
#26
RE: Making my first level!

(07-09-2011, 07:57 AM)christopher231 Wrote: another thing, i watched this vid telling you how to make the extra_english.lang.
but for some odd reason its not working for me can some one help aging ???
thanks

Can you show me your extra_english.lang please? Smile

07-09-2011, 01:38 PM
Find
christopher231 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 26
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#27
RE: Making my first level!

<LANGUAGE>
<RESOURCES />
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">"Testing level"
</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
<Entry Name= ItemName_ToCellerDoorkey_1> CellerDoor key </Entry>
<Entry Name= ItemDesc_ToCellerDoorkey_1> test key </Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>

there's my extra_english.lang
the description works now but i cant seem to make the key have a different name in game!!! Angry
07-10-2011, 03:48 AM
Find
Zypherzemus Offline
Member

Posts: 94
Threads: 7
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#28
RE: Making my first level!

(07-10-2011, 03:48 AM)christopher231 Wrote: <LANGUAGE>
<RESOURCES />
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">"Testing level"
</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
<Entry Name= ItemName_ToCellerDoorkey_1> CellerDoor key </Entry>
<Entry Name= ItemDesc_ToCellerDoorkey_1> test key </Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>

there's my extra_english.lang
the description works now but i cant seem to make the key have a different name in game!!! Angry

simple, change the name of the key to match Exactly what it is in the .hps file as well as the .lang file
EX: If your key's name is "key_1"
in the .hps file, it should be "key_1"
in the lang file however, it should be whatever the text name is going to be.
you can change the text Entry name in the level Editor by clicking the key, then clicking the Entity tab, scroll down until you see TextEntry (I think) and whatever you put in that dialog box has to match up in the .lang file for it to work, understand?

EDIT: Oops, my mistake, it's CustomSubItenTypeName, not TextEntry.
(This post was last modified: 07-10-2011, 08:09 PM by Zypherzemus.)
07-10-2011, 04:40 AM
Find
christopher231 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 26
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#29
RE: Making my first level!

ok i got the extra_english.lang to work, here it is Big Grin
<LANGUAGE>
<RESOURCES />
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">"The Castle"
</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
<Entry Name="ItemName_TowerKey">Tower Key</Entry>
<Entry Name="ItemDesc_TowerKey">Looks like the key for the near by Tower</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>

but now i cant seem to get the key to unlock the door Dodgy


void OnStart()
{
AddUseItemCallback("", "TowerKey_1", "castle_arched01_3", "UsedKeyOnDoor", ture);
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
SetSwingDoorLocked("castle_arched01_3", false, true);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door.snt", "castle_arched01_3", 0, false);
RemoveItem("TowerKey_1");
}

void OnEnter()
{
}
void OnLeave()
{
}

can some one please show me whats wrong?
http://www.youtube.com/user/clrsub11#p/u/2/3vn9MhoRFl0
this is the vid ive been watching that shows you how to make it work.

P.S. this is for a differnt level so thats why different names for e.g. the key name
(This post was last modified: 07-12-2011, 01:39 PM by christopher231.)
07-12-2011, 09:01 AM
Find
Zypherzemus Offline
Member

Posts: 94
Threads: 7
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
#30
RE: Making my first level!

Woah... Way to many syntax errors.
<LANGUAGE>
      <RESOURCES>
      </RESOURCES>
           <CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
           <Entry Name="Description">"The Castle"</Entry>
       </CATEGORY>
           <CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
<Entry Name="ItemName_TowerKey">Tower Key</Entry>
<Entry Name="ItemDesc_TowerKey">Looks like the key for the near by Tower</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>

void OnStart()
{
AddUseItemCallback("", "TowerKey_1", "castle_arched01_3", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
SetSwingDoorLocked("castle_arched01_3", false, true);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door.snt", "castle_arched01_3", 0, false);
RemoveItem("TowerKey_1");
}

void OnEnter()
{
}
void OnLeave()
{
}

And is "castle_arched01_3" really the name of the door? (That's what you actually named it) Or is it by default? (If it's by default, that is most likely an archway instead of a door)
07-12-2011, 06:55 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)