Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
What the hell do I do...
Author Message
Excel Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago What the hell do I do...

Hi, I just bought Amnesia yesterday, and was hoping to play it today. However, I get what is called the "black box" problem. Yes, I researched ways to fix this for many hours. I've already uninstalled my current driver, and attempted to download many others that for some reason, don't work. My computer screen is now all fat and stretched for some reason.

I really just want to play this game. I don't want to have spent $20 on a computer icon... I'm also a really big fan of the horror genre, and I have heard great things about this particular game, so I was excited to get to finally play it. But...

So if anyone can help me in any way, I'd very much appreciate it. If there's any information needed for you to help me, just tell me where I can find it, and I'll post it here, because I'm really desperate to play this game. Thanks anybody...
07-22-2011 12:12 AM
Find all posts by this user
TFEF Offline
Member

Posts: 143
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago RE: What the hell do I do...

Post the hpl.log file from My Documents/Amnesia/Main.
07-22-2011 12:34 AM
Find all posts by this user
Excel Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago RE: What the hell do I do...

Version 1.10 - s96E0ACA8-539
-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------
Engine build ID 20101021192547

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating generate module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating loader handlers
Creating resource managers
Adding loaders to handlers
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init lowlevel graphics: 1024x768 bpp:32 fs:1 ms:0 gpufmt:2 cap:'Amnesia - The Dark Descent - Loading...' posSad-1x-1)
Setting video mode: 1024 x 768 - 32 bpp
Init Glew...OK
Setting up OpenGL
Vendor: Microsoft Corporation
Renderer: GDI Generic
Version: 1.1.0
Max texture image units: 3
Max texture coord units: 4
Max user clip planes: 6
Two sided stencil: 0
Vertex Buffer Object: 0
Anisotropic filtering: 0
Multisampling: 0
Texture compression: 0
Texture compression S3TC: 0
Auto generate MipMaps: 0
Render to texture: 0
Max draw buffers: 13
Max color render targets: 21
Packed depth-stencil: 0
Texture float: 0
GLSL Version: (null)
ShaderModel 2: 0
ShaderModel 3: 1
ShaderModel 4: 0
OGL ATIFragmentShader: 0



Is this any help?
07-22-2011 12:39 AM
Find all posts by this user
xiphirx Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 662
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 5
Post: #4
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago RE: What the hell do I do...

Your "Fat and stretched" screen probably means your resolution was messed up. Set it to your monitor's native resolution.

07-22-2011 01:32 AM
Find all posts by this user
Excel Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago RE: What the hell do I do...

(07-22-2011 01:32 AM)xiphirx Wrote:  Your "Fat and stretched" screen probably means your resolution was messed up. Set it to your monitor's native resolution.

Ok but what about the problem regarding Amnesia? I'd really like to be able to play by tommorow
07-22-2011 02:21 AM
Find all posts by this user
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 66
Post: #6
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago RE: What the hell do I do...

You didn't install any graphic driver. Please install them.

07-22-2011 02:40 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Excel Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago RE: What the hell do I do...

(07-22-2011 02:40 AM)Tanshaydar Wrote:  You didn't install any graphic driver. Please install them.

That's the thing,(and I hope I don't sound rude here) as I said in the OP, I read other threads on how to fix this problem, and I did what one of the other threads said to do. Uninstall my current driver, reboot, install new driver, reboot and try again. Well I got to the "install new driver" step. Apparently the driver is unable to be installed on my computer. There were 4 drivers recommended in the thread I was looking at, and I tried all 4. Nothing. I also tried a few others from other threads about the same issue. Nothing.

I was hoping that, given the computer smart people that post here, someone would be able to ask for my computer information, and from there be able to offer a driver that I could actually install, and from there, help me get Amnesia running. I honestly hope I don't sound selfish or something, the way I'm asking other people to do the work for me, but honestly, I'm not very good with computers, and I really just wanna play this game, given how excited I am, and the fact that I spent 20 dollars, so........ Any help at all would be extremely appreciated. As soon as possible please.... I realize these forums aren't exactly "active" but I reply at least within 20 minutes, so keeping the tab open would be helpful...
07-22-2011 03:12 AM
Find all posts by this user
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 66
Post: #8
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago RE: What the hell do I do...

Well, did you give any of your computer's information?
Maybe we can help then Smile

07-22-2011 03:16 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Excel Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago RE: What the hell do I do...

(07-22-2011 03:16 AM)Tanshaydar Wrote:  Well, did you give any of your computer's information?
Maybe we can help then :)

I'm no good with computers, I don't know where to find stuff like that. Could you maybe please tell me where I could find my computer's "information" so I can post it? I'd really appreciate it :D
07-22-2011 03:18 AM
Find all posts by this user
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 66
Post: #10
Solved: 6 Months, 4 Weeks, 2 Days, 3 Hours, 2 Minutes, 29 Seconds ago RE: What the hell do I do...

First, is it a desktop or laptop?
If it's a laptop, brand and model will help.

Download http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html this and tell us what it says on graphics tab.

07-22-2011 03:27 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)