Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Custom Story Problems
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
When I had created a base template for a custom story, (a floor, light and a player start area) when I tried to test it out it wasn't in the custom story section on the main menu. I had done the whole:
<Main
Name = "Eclipse"
Author = "Me"
MapsFolder = "maps/"
StartMap = "01.map"
StartPos = "PlayerStartArea_1"
/>I double checked, triple checked, and many more if the player start and map were named those and found they were. I also did everything Xanac123 did in his Amnesia custom story video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-dERJGneOA Please Help.
Make sure the following stuff is in your folder "custom_stories":
A folder with the name of your CS.
Inside that folder, make a folder named "maps". Inside it, paste all .map files and .hps files(they have to be named the same: 01.map and 01.hps)
if you haven't got a .hps file, make it and paste this:
void OnStart()
{
}
void OnEnter()
{
}
void OnLeave()
{
}

Back to the folder with the name of your CS, paste the file with your custom story settings you got above. make sure it is named "custom_story_settings.cfg". So you got a .cfg file.
Might as well make a extra english file. Go back to the folder with the name of your cs, make a new file named "extra_english.lang". So you got a .lang file. Inside it, paste this:
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">Description</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
That should be it. make sure you got all above, then try to load it again.
an .hps is not necessary to run a map but are necessary if you want to script
Any CS without any .hps files is probably sh-- bad anyway. The levels can have awesome detail, but with no scripting at all, I doubt it's enough.

And btw, he wanted a basic template. Why not include a script file template as well? Big Grin
ofc it will be bad without scripting, Im just saying that a .hps is not necessary to run a map. But ofc you need scripting Smile
(06-29-2012, 10:04 AM)FastHunteR Wrote: [ -> ]Make sure the following stuff is in your folder "custom_stories":
A folder with the name of your CS.
Inside that folder, make a folder named "maps". Inside it, paste all .map files and .hps files(they have to be named the same: 01.map and 01.hps)
if you haven't got a .hps file, make it and paste this:
void OnStart()
{
}
void OnEnter()
{
}
void OnLeave()
{
}

Back to the folder with the name of your CS, paste the file with your custom story settings you got above. make sure it is named "custom_story_settings.cfg". So you got a .cfg file.
Might as well make a extra english file. Go back to the folder with the name of your cs, make a new file named "extra_english.lang". So you got a .lang file. Inside it, paste this:
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">Description</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
That should be it. make sure you got all above, then try to load it again.
I did everything you said to do and yet it still doesn't appear in the custom stories at the main menu. Thx anyways Big Grin
Still? I think it might be better to tell us where you have what, and how you named every file.
(07-02-2012, 12:11 PM)FastHunteR Wrote: [ -> ]Still? I think it might be better to tell us where you have what, and how you named every file.
Well, my custom story is in my Amnesia,Custom Stories and in that is maps with 01.map and custom_story_settings with
<Main
Name = "Eclipse"
Author = "Logan"
MapsFolder = "maps/"
StartMap = "01.map"
StartPos = "PlayerStartArea_1"
/>

and also extra_english.lang
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">Description</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
and my custom story has a player spawn called PlayerStartArea_1
(07-05-2012, 03:46 AM)Kobis Wrote: [ -> ]Well, my custom story is in my Amnesia,Custom Stories and in that is maps with 01.map and custom_story_settings with
<Main
Name = "Eclipse"
Author = "Logan"
MapsFolder = "maps/"
StartMap = "01.map"
StartPos = "PlayerStartArea_1"
/>

and also extra_english.lang
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">Description</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
and my custom story has a player spawn called PlayerStartArea_1
Maybe you don't have the maps folder ?
make sure the custom_story_settings file is of the type .cfg.
so it's custom_story_settings.cfg
Since you didn't include that.
Pages: 1 2