Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Inactive lights emitting light
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I want to connect some ambient point lights to some candle objects, but while testing, I can see that the point lights are emitting light without being active.
(03-24-2013, 12:58 AM)eagledude4 Wrote: [ -> ]I want to connect some ambient point lights to some candle objects, but while testing, I can see that the point lights are emitting light without being active.

That is not how it works. Here is how i would of done it.
1. Change the point light colour to 0, 0, and 0.
2. Rename the pointlight (Remember to click Enter so it savesWink).
3. Open your candle's properties in the Level Editor.
4. Check the second tab (In the candle's properties at the Level Editor)
5. There should something that says ConnectedLight or something.
6. Put your pointlight's name into the box.
(OPTIONAL)
7. In the ConnectedLightAmount, change the number to how many your pointlight is.
I think I did all of that already. I'll see if I need to change the point light colour to all 0's, but I dont think that should effect a light that's inactive.

When looking in prespective view with global lighting off, the point lights dont emit any light when they are inactvie (just when testing ingame)
(03-24-2013, 05:43 AM)eagledude4 Wrote: [ -> ]I think I did all of that already. I'll see if I need to change the point light colour to all 0's, but I dont think that should effect a light that's inactive.

Lights cannot de-activated.
That i know of.
(03-24-2013, 05:47 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: [ -> ]Lights cannot de-activated.
That i know of.

Then why would they give point lights an "active" checkbox?
(03-24-2013, 05:51 AM)eagledude4 Wrote: [ -> ]
(03-24-2013, 05:47 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: [ -> ]Lights cannot de-activated.
That i know of.

Then why would they give point lights an "active" checkbox?

Dunno. But you can de-activate lights through scripts. Just realized it now while derping on the Script Functions page Smile
Thanks for that note. I successfully disabled the ambient light at the start using this:
Code:
SetLightVisible("PointLight_5", false);

But I'm unsure of how to do the same thing with the callbackFunc box of the candle to enable the light.
(03-24-2013, 06:34 AM)eagledude4 Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks for that note. I successfully disabled the ambient light at the start using this:
Code:
SetLightVisible("PointLight_5", false);

But I'm unsure of how to do the same thing with the callbackFunc box of the candle to enable the light.
What do you mean?
Putting
Code:
SetLightVisible("PointLight_5", true)

in the candle's callbackfunc box doesnt do anything. What's the proper way to run that code when the candle becomes lit?

I don't want to add an onignite code for each light, and I'm prety sure I can just run the code through the candle entity.
(03-24-2013, 06:55 AM)eagledude4 Wrote: [ -> ]Putting
Code:
SetLightVisible("PointLight_5", true)

in the candle's callbackfunc box doesnt do anything. What's the proper way to run that code when the candle becomes lit?

I don't want to add an onignite code for each light, and I'm prety sure I can just run the code through the candle entity.

You put that to the map's script.
Pages: 1 2