Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Spawning a monster with a script area...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
A friend and I (Kiandra) Cannot seem to get this working. We've both been poking at it for a while and just can't get it to work. Here is the script..

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_brute", "brutepatrol", true, 1);
}

void OnEnter()
{

}

void OnLeave()
{

}

void brutepatrol(string &in asParent, string &in asChild)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_brute_1", true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_22", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_18", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_6", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_19", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_25", 0, "");
}


It causes no errors whatsoever. Just nothing happens in game.. Anyone know why?
(06-17-2013, 12:50 AM)Bonehead Wrote: [ -> ]A friend and I (Kiandra) Cannot seem to get this working. We've both been poking at it for a while and just can't get it to work. Here is the script..

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_brute", "brutepatrol", true, 1);
}

void OnEnter()
{

}

void OnLeave()
{

}

void brutepatrol(string &in asParent, string &in asChild)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_brute_1", true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_22", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_18", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_6", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_19", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_25", 0, "");
}


It causes no errors whatsoever. Just nothing happens in game.. Anyone know why?


Spoiler below!

void brutepatrol(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)


You're missing int alState.
(06-17-2013, 01:12 AM)sonataarctica Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-17-2013, 12:50 AM)Bonehead Wrote: [ -> ]A friend and I (Kiandra) Cannot seem to get this working. We've both been poking at it for a while and just can't get it to work. Here is the script..

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_brute", "brutepatrol", true, 1);
}

void OnEnter()
{

}

void OnLeave()
{

}

void brutepatrol(string &in asParent, string &in asChild)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_brute_1", true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_22", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_18", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_6", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_19", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_25", 0, "");
}


It causes no errors whatsoever. Just nothing happens in game.. Anyone know why?


Spoiler below!

void brutepatrol(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)


You're missing int alState.


Added that in. Friend of mine sent me her version of the script. Our scripts are EXACTLY the same. Yet hers works and mine does not. I don't get it...
(06-17-2013, 01:39 AM)Bonehead Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-17-2013, 01:12 AM)sonataarctica Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-17-2013, 12:50 AM)Bonehead Wrote: [ -> ]A friend and I (Kiandra) Cannot seem to get this working. We've both been poking at it for a while and just can't get it to work. Here is the script..

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_brute", "brutepatrol", true, 1);
}

void OnEnter()
{

}

void OnLeave()
{

}

void brutepatrol(string &in asParent, string &in asChild)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_brute_1", true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_22", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_18", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_6", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_19", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_25", 0, "");
}


It causes no errors whatsoever. Just nothing happens in game.. Anyone know why?


Spoiler below!

void brutepatrol(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)


You're missing int alState.


Added that in. Friend of mine sent me her version of the script. Our scripts are EXACTLY the same. Yet hers works and mine does not. I don't get it...

Well, that's odd.
(06-17-2013, 01:39 AM)Bonehead Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-17-2013, 01:12 AM)sonataarctica Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-17-2013, 12:50 AM)Bonehead Wrote: [ -> ]A friend and I (Kiandra) Cannot seem to get this working. We've both been poking at it for a while and just can't get it to work. Here is the script..

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_brute", "brutepatrol", true, 1);
}

void OnEnter()
{

}

void OnLeave()
{

}

void brutepatrol(string &in asParent, string &in asChild)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_brute_1", true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_22", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_18", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_6", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_19", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_25", 0, "");
}


It causes no errors whatsoever. Just nothing happens in game.. Anyone know why?


Spoiler below!

void brutepatrol(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)


You're missing int alState.


Added that in. Friend of mine sent me her version of the script. Our scripts are EXACTLY the same. Yet hers works and mine does not. I don't get it...

Check that the script area is called exactly the same thing in the level editor as it is in the .hps file.
You do have a monster in your map right? You need to place a monster in your map, make it inactive, to be able to "spawn" it. It's not spawning from thin air.