Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: [SOLVED] Need help - HPS/Skybox trouble
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi all, I took a fairly long break from mapping, and have run into a problem I ran into a long time ago. The new problem is that I've forgotten how to fix said problem Confused

First off, my hps file is not working. At the moment, all it has in it is...

Spoiler below!
void onStart()
{
GiveItemFromFile("lantern", "lantern.ent");
SetSkyBoxActive(true);
SetSkyBoxTexture("foreign_skyscape.dds");
}

I have made sure it is named the same as my map (Realism.hps, Realism.map), but I am not spawning with a lantern. I'm in debug mode, if that changes anything.

My next problem is that I can't get skyboxes to work. If I select the option in the editor (Edit -> Level settings) the skybox will appear in the editor, but once I start up the map, the sky is white.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.
where is the skybox file?
It must be in a directory recognized by your resources.cfg
(06-21-2013, 02:53 AM)WIWWM Wrote: [ -> ]where is the skybox file?
It must be in a directory recognized by your resources.cfg

It's in... custom_stories/Egypt/Textures/evnmaps/
(06-21-2013, 02:56 AM)Zokrar Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-21-2013, 02:53 AM)WIWWM Wrote: [ -> ]where is the skybox file?
It must be in a directory recognized by your resources.cfg

It's in... custom_stories/Egypt/Textures/evnmaps/

okay try not using any hps file (just move it out of the folder to desktop or something) set the skybox through lvl editor again then go in game after saving and closing the editor.
No luck. Sky is still white.
You have to include the custom story directory in your Resources.cfg.

HOW TO DO THAT
Spoiler below!

Find your Resources.cfg in
Code:
Amnesia - The Dark Descent/redist/

Then, open it.

After that, copy paste this to the contents. Make sure it's inside the </RESOURCES> sign.
Code:
<Directory Path="/custom_stories" AddSubDirs="true" />

Then, your skybox should be working now!


[EDIT : It's void OnStart() by the way.]
(06-21-2013, 03:37 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: [ -> ]You have to include the custom story directory in your Resources.cfg.

HOW TO DO THAT
Spoiler below!

Find your Resources.cfg in
Code:
Amnesia - The Dark Descent/redist/

Then, open it.

After that, copy paste this to the contents. Make sure it's inside the </RESOURCES> sign.
Code:
<Directory Path="/custom_stories" AddSubDirs="true" />

Then, your skybox should be working now!


i thought about that but would it work for other people who dont have it added?

It would work for him but why not him? and why isnt his script activating it?
(06-21-2013, 03:43 AM)WIWWM Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-21-2013, 03:37 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: [ -> ]You have to include the custom story directory in your Resources.cfg.

HOW TO DO THAT
Spoiler below!

Find your Resources.cfg in
Code:
Amnesia - The Dark Descent/redist/

Then, open it.

After that, copy paste this to the contents. Make sure it's inside the </RESOURCES> sign.
Code:
<Directory Path="/custom_stories" AddSubDirs="true" />

Then, your skybox should be working now!


i thought about that but would it work for other people who dont have it added?

It would work for him but why not him? and why isnt his script activating it?

It WOULD work only on the Level Editor. Other people that didn't add that will see the white skybox on the Level Editor. The game works just fine.
Will try that now
(06-21-2013, 03:48 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-21-2013, 03:43 AM)WIWWM Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-21-2013, 03:37 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: [ -> ]You have to include the custom story directory in your Resources.cfg.

HOW TO DO THAT
Spoiler below!

Find your Resources.cfg in
Code:
Amnesia - The Dark Descent/redist/

Then, open it.

After that, copy paste this to the contents. Make sure it's inside the </RESOURCES> sign.
Code:
<Directory Path="/custom_stories" AddSubDirs="true" />

Then, your skybox should be working now!


i thought about that but would it work for other people who dont have it added?

It would work for him but why not him? and why isnt his script activating it?

It WOULD work only on the Level Editor. Other people that didn't add that will see the white skybox on the Level Editor. The game works just fine.

he said it already works in the editor...
(06-21-2013, 02:23 AM)Zokrar Wrote: [ -> ]skybox will appear in the editor
Pages: 1 2