Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Modifying the illumination Shader
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi!

I have been trying to change the illumination shader:
Amnesia - The Dark Descent\redist\core\deferred_illumination_frag.glsl

to have bloom. But I'm not a good coder, nor do I know if it's actually possible to do - which is why I'm turning to you :]

[Image: glow-low.jpg]
http://devmaster.net/posts/3100/shader-e...-and-bloom

Something similar to this. The reason I'm asking is because while making Spacies I have a lot of illuminated models and textures. Spamming billboards works, but billboards look bad from certain angles and doesn't work in all sitautions.

One idea I had was to replace the illumination shader with the shader for 'itemglow' - it didn't seem to do the trick though.

Any help or (informed) opinion on why it's not possible is appreciated. Thanks!
----->gl_FragColor = texture2D(aDiffuse, gl_TexCoord[0].xy) * afColorMul;

I'm not a coder, but something tells me here's the secret... maybe, if you changed something from "* afColorMul" it would look brighter. Try "* afColorMul;" multiplied by two or three.

I have found this, it might be useful Smile

http://devmaster.net/posts/3100/shader-e...-and-bloom
Hehe thanks. It's not brightness, but bloom I'm looking for (adjusting the values wouldn't help much). Basically, instead of having to use billboards the illumination map is blurred and 'shown in the air as light' - not purely on the surface of the texture.

The link is nice - included in the main post ;D

If it is to work one would have to write new code, or somehow modify the 'item glow' code.
I have found more links:

http://www.gamerendering.com/2008/10/11/...er-shader/

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/57631...ack-screen