Frictional Games Forum

Full Version: Penumbra Not Working on Mavericks (SOLVED)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
(12-11-2013, 03:28 AM)Urkle Wrote: [ -> ]Running games under sudo is never a good idea. The launching issue has been fixed properly. so please do NOT run via SUDO!


Hi all! Good news, thanks to a helpful user on the Steam Forums, (Thank you, Andrey) you can all now play the Penumbra series on your mac. Wherever you downloaded it from, look inside its original download location and type it into the terminal window like so:

sudo open <LOCATION OF .app>

You will be prompted to enter your administrator password. Do not be alarmed, many terminal tasks require this.

Example, lets say you downloaded it through Steam... do this:

1. Open Terminal application (Applications -> Utilities),
2. Enter next command

Code:
sudo open /Users/<YOUR_USER_ACCOUNT_NAME>/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/Penumbra\ Overture/Penumbra.app

3. Enter your User Account password

The game will now start. ENJOY!

For Penumbra Black Plague...

Code:
sudo open /Users/<YOUR_USER_ACCOUNT_NAME>/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/Penumbra\ Black\ Plague/BlackPlague.app

For Penumbra Requiem...

Code:
sudo open /Users/<YOUR_USER_ACCOUNT_NAME>/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/Penumbra\ Black\ Plague/Requiem.app


Tested on Macbook Pro 15'' Retina running 10.9.0
Running games under sudo is never a good idea. But this does make me wonder what is going on and why it's working that way. And does help me diagnose the issue so I can get a proper fix. So thanks!
Sure thing, you can also read the error messages i found in my other thread here:

http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-23984.html

Thanks for helping!
Hi there, I just played the entire game without any problems other than some lighting issues where they would occasionally form a square. Everything else went flawlessly and I LOVED the game. I am going forth to play the others as well now.Heart
How do I find its original download location?
I have a macbook Pro with mavericks.

I am using steam and also downloaded the desk top short cut however whenever i open package contents... there is no Terminal window to be found in either resources or the Mac OS folder.
Please help!!!
Question. What would be the problem with running amnesia in a windows enviroment?
Something of the such
http://www.macwindows.com/winintelmac.html
Amnesia works for both Mac and PC. Try not to run games in OS emulators, because they do not take full advantage of your hardware. It is possible to configure them to do so, though it frequently comes with problems. If you have a mac and want to play a PC only game, you can read up on Wine to take full advantage of your hardware. Although, not all games run on Wine.

See if your game runs with Wine first:
http://wiki.winehq.org/MacOSX

If not, you can try running your game using this tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Gaming-o...rkstation/

Your "terminal" is an actual application on your computer. It can by clicking the magnifying glass at the top right hand corner of your screen and typing in "terminal".
(01-22-2014, 05:59 AM)FatKidWitAJetPak Wrote: [ -> ]Amnesia works for both Mac and PC. Try not to run games in OS emulators, because they do not take full advantage of your hardware. It is possible to configure them to do so, though it frequently comes with problems. If you have a mac and want to play a PC only game, you can read up on Wine to take full advantage of your hardware. Although, not all games run on Wine.

See if your game runs with Wine first:
http://wiki.winehq.org/MacOSX

If not, you can try running your game using this tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Gaming-o...rkstation/

Your "terminal" is an actual application on your computer. It can by clicking the magnifying glass at the top right hand corner of your screen and typing in "terminal".

Ahhh lets see if I can figure this out now lol. Thank You!

(01-22-2014, 11:20 PM)Rocky26 Wrote: [ -> ]
(01-22-2014, 05:59 AM)FatKidWitAJetPak Wrote: [ -> ]Amnesia works for both Mac and PC. Try not to run games in OS emulators, because they do not take full advantage of your hardware. It is possible to configure them to do so, though it frequently comes with problems. If you have a mac and want to play a PC only game, you can read up on Wine to take full advantage of your hardware. Although, not all games run on Wine.

See if your game runs with Wine first:
http://wiki.winehq.org/MacOSX

If not, you can try running your game using this tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Gaming-o...rkstation/

Your "terminal" is an actual application on your computer. It can by clicking the magnifying glass at the top right hand corner of your screen and typing in "terminal".

Ahhh lets see if I can figure this out now lol. Thank You!

Ok how exactly would I type this in for Amnesia The Dark Descent???
I've tried several different ways and i keep getting... "No such file or directory" Sad

I've never really had to rewrite codes before so this is a little confusing for me. Sorry to bother you guys again.
I followed the exact directions and the game still opens for 1 second and then closes immediately. Is there another fix?
yeah.. the other fix is me fixing it proper and sending a patch, which is on my agenda for today and through the weekend.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5