Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Disable texture on lantern
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi.
Is there a way I can disable the texture on the lantern (and hand model).

Since it's the only way for the player to make an input I can detect with a script, I'd like to use it without the lantern effects. But I can only detect it if the player has a lantern.

PHP Code:
SetEntityVisible("hand_lantern"false); 
Did not work.

Any ideas?
Perhaps you can make it 100% black alpha on the texture, but of course that would require an IFC.
(06-14-2015, 04:17 PM)Mudbill Wrote: [ -> ]Perhaps you can make it 100% black alpha on the texture, but of course that would require an IFC.

An IFC won't bother me a bit. If I can make some fun gameplay and pull it off, then I won't mind.

So you're saying I simply open the texture, delete everything, then edit the texture it the material editor?
Pretty much. You've also gotta edit the model to remove the pointlight/billboard that's there, and you have to edit the user variables to remove the sounds of the lantern turning on and off. Smile

Don't necessarily delete everything, but if you create an alpha channel that applies to the whole texture, it will make the texture completely invisible.
(06-14-2015, 04:23 PM)(拉赫兰) Romulator Wrote: [ -> ]Pretty much. You've also gotta edit the model to remove the pointlight/billboard that's there, and you have to edit the user variables to remove the sounds of the lantern turning on and off. Smile

Don't necessarily delete everything, but if you create an alpha channel that applies to the whole texture, it will make the texture completely invisible.

You're starting to speak in terms I'm not yet familiar with.

"Alpha channel". When you say I create an alpha channel, do you mean I create a new layer, that overwrites the other texture?
The texture has two channels that HPL uses. The first one is the diffuse, which is the actual texture. The other is the alpha, which determines where opacity/translucency/transparency shows. Diffuse is color strength, alpha is, well, alpha strength.

You can create alpha channels in GIMP, Photoshop, Paint.NET etc. Try to open one of them .tga icons, and you'll see it.

[Image: InPeBvg.png]

White = opaque, black = transparent. Anything in between (gray scale) determines the strength.
I'm using paint.NET.
Where do I show channels?
Can't he replace the textures of the lantern with an invisible 512x512 texture that is exactly the same name of the previous textures?

You can use google search there buddy...
(06-14-2015, 05:23 PM)TheDoctorPoo Wrote: [ -> ]You can use google search there buddy...

You may say that, but I tried google searching without any luck.

When I open the .tga file Mudbill opened I get this
[Image: 52d84fd9a5.png].

I'm not sure where I'm supposed to edit an alpha channel, the way he could in photoshop.


Lag = Layers

EDIT:
Don't mind me. I got it working.... heh...



dat CS deagle
Pages: 1 2