Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Causing sanity damage to yourself
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am completely new to this level editor, I made my own level to mess around in, well in the level I have a lever, how can I make it so by using the lever the player's sanity gets damaged, is it possible?

I have zero experience when it comes to scripting, do I need to script something in order for this thing to work?

Help is appreciated.
Yes, you will need scripting for this. But it is fairly simply, if you begin by making a script file as on the wiki in the first step in the script tutorial 1. Then you only have to do 1 thing in the script and 1 thing in the editor.

In the editor, select the lever, click the Entity tab. For ConnectionStateChangeCallback enter a name for a function, like PullLever

Then in the script file, anywhere that is not within OnStart, OnEnter or OnLeave you add

Code:
//Function as you specified in ConnectionStateChangeCallback
void PullLever(string &in asEntity, int alState)
{
    //If the lever is pulled max up or down then give sanity damage
    if(alState == 1 or alState == -1)
    {
        GiveSanityDamage(10, true);  //10 = amount of damage, true = effects are used (vision distorts and such)
    }
}

I think this will work, this is not the 100% intended use of ConnectionStateChangeCallback, but I think I used it like this in one of the levels. As you say 0 experience, to make sure you are not confused, all the lines that start with // are comments I added to explain what is going on, those do not actually have to be in the script.
Well, What am I doing wrong, I get a fatal error claiming it couldn't load script file "yy.hps" main (31, 35) : ERR because it expected data type

I have no idea what it is referring to when it says Data type

This is my code:

Code:
////////////////////////////
// Run first time starting map