Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Level Help
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm new to this editor, I've used other editors in the past like Source SDK.
Just the scripting is a little confusing, I need to know how to create an event when I pick up a key and a monster spawns outside the room, smashes the door and after about 30 seconds walks off and de-spawns.

Any help is appreciated

Thanks Big Grin
(03-14-2011, 05:31 AM)SampleFriend Wrote: [ -> ]I'm new to this editor, I've used other editors in the past like Source SDK.
Just the scripting is a little confusing, I need to know how to create an event when I pick up a key and a monster spawns outside the room, smashes the door and after about 30 seconds walks off and de-spawns.

Any help is appreciated

Thanks Big Grin

Well, the only thing is, there are a lot of variables when it comes to scripting. But I'll give you an example to work off of.

Code:
OnStart()
{
//Key_01, the name of the key entity.
SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback("key_01", "spawn_monster", true);
//Add an Area Script with the name Area_1, just in front of the door the player enters.
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "Area_1", "close_door", true, 1);
}

void spawn_monster(string &in asEntity)
{
//monster_1, name of the monster entity.
SetEntityActive("monster_1", true);

//Add a path node inside the room, name it node_1
AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_1", "node_1", 30.0f, "");
//Add a path node outside the room, name it node_2
AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_1", "node_2", 0.0f, "");
//Add a area script outside the room, with node_2 inside of it
AddEntityCollideCallback("monster_1", "Area_2", "despawn_monster", true, 1);
}

void close_door(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
SetSwingDoorLocked("door_1", true, true);
}

void despawn_monster(string &in asEntity)
{
SetEntityActive("monster_1", false);
}