Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Door doesn't load next map when clicked on.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
It's basically what the title says: I have a door in my level, the name of the next map is in "MapFile" under the entity tab, and the correct StartPos is also set. Is there something I'm missing?
(08-13-2011, 10:25 AM)NadTheBat Wrote: [ -> ]It's basically what the title says: I have a door in my level, the name of the next map is in "MapFile" under the entity tab, and the correct StartPos is also set. Is there something I'm missing?

did you make sure "MapFile" ends with .map

Quote:MapFile.map
(08-13-2011, 12:33 PM)Saffire192 Wrote: [ -> ]
(08-13-2011, 10:25 AM)NadTheBat Wrote: [ -> ]It's basically what the title says: I have a door in my level, the name of the next map is in "MapFile" under the entity tab, and the correct StartPos is also set. Is there something I'm missing?

did you make sure "MapFile" ends with .map

Quote:MapFile.map

Yes, the MapFile does end with .map
Are you sure it's a level door? Do you also have it in your Script that when you interact with that entity (Door) that it Changes the Map?

-Grey Fox
(08-13-2011, 05:15 PM)GreyFox Wrote: [ -> ]Are you sure it's a level door? Do you also have it in your Script that when you interact with that entity (Door) that it Changes the Map?

-Grey Fox

Ahh it has to be in the script? Could you possibly put what I need to put in there? Or a link at least, because I've looked everywhere and I haven't found a single thing on doors.
No doesnt need to be a script if you use the leveldoors, just place one out, and click it, go to entity and you'll see a box there which says Mapfile. Then just click on it and find the map you want to load in your folders.

If you're not using the leveldoors and want to use normal doors you need to script a normal player interact script followed by
ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);
(08-14-2011, 03:08 PM)Rownbear Wrote: [ -> ]No doesnt need to be a script if you use the leveldoors, just place one out, and click it, go to entity and you'll see a box there which says Mapfile. Then just click on it and find the map you want to load in your folders.

If you're not using the leveldoors and want to use normal doors you need to script a normal player interact script followed by
ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Could the problem be that the door is opened with a key? Because I use the key on the door and when I try to open it I still hear the locked sound.
Well I figured out a solution. I'm going to put a regular door that locks and make a small hallway leading to the level door. Thanks for the help anyway guys.