Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Area collide turning on torches problem.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
So i have an area collide callback
Code:
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "Areagruntactive", "LightFuction", true, 1);

Which then is supposed to light "greentorch1". This is the void function that i have.
Code:
void LightFunction(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
    SetLampLit("greentorch1", true,);
}

Now i'm pretty new to scripting in general, and a correction and/or explanation of why this doesn't work would be appreciated.
There is a comma after the true in SetLampLit.
Gotta remove it.
(08-25-2011, 05:18 AM)Juby Wrote: [ -> ]There is a comma after the true in SetLampLit.
Gotta remove it.

not the problem, still giving me a fatal error? got anything else? cus i'm CLUELESS
You need to specify the "effects" part of your SetLampLit state. The syntax is
Code:
void SetLampLit(string& asName, bool abLit, bool abEffects);
so you want your code to look like this:
Code:
Code:
{
    SetLampLit("greentorch1", true, false);
}

(08-25-2011, 06:28 AM)Phoroneus Wrote: [ -> ]You need to specify the "effects" part of your SetLampLit state. The syntax is
Code:
void SetLampLit(string& asName, bool abLit, bool abEffects);
so you want your code to look like this:
Code:
Code:
{
    SetLampLit("greentorch1", true, false);
}
well i did try that, and i didn't get a fatal error, the only problem is, that now the light won't actually light. it stays unlit.
So what does the effects do exactly?
I'm not positive, to be honest. I usually just set them to "false". You can try "true", it might be the actual fading in of the light (as seen when you manually light an object with a tinderbox).