Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Script Help Sound not playing
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Sound not playing

OnStart:
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "Custom/big_clock_chime.snt", "clock_grandfather_1", 0.0f, false);

big_clock_chime.snt:
<SOUNDENTITY>
  <SOUNDS>
      <Main>
          <Sound File="Custom/big_clock_chime" />
      </Main>
  </SOUNDS>
  <PROPERTIES Volume="0.5" MinDistance="20" MaxDistance="30" Random="1" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="True" Loop="True" Use3D="True" Blockable="True" BlockVolumeMul="0.5" Priority="0" />
</SOUNDENTITY>

I want the sound to play at the clock entity as soon as the game starts, but it doesn't. The sound file is in redist/sounds/Custom.


Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
(This post was last modified: 01-11-2012, 11:06 PM by eagledude4.)
01-11-2012, 11:04 PM
Find
Elven Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 862
Threads: 37
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 26
#2
RE: Sound not playing

remove Custom/ part and put your .snt file into cutom as well. It should work this way perfectly Smile

The Interrogation
Chapter 1

My tutorials
01-11-2012, 11:08 PM
Find
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#3
RE: Sound not playing

(01-11-2012, 11:04 PM)eagledude4 Wrote: OnStart:
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "Custom/big_clock_chime.snt", "clock_grandfather_1", 0.0f, false);

big_clock_chime.snt:

I want the sound to play at the clock entity as soon as the game starts, but it doesn't. The sound file is in redist/sounds/Custom.


Also put the sounds in your custom story directory, so it plays for other people as well.

01-12-2012, 02:01 AM
Find
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: Sound not playing

(01-11-2012, 11:08 PM)Elven Wrote: remove Custom/ part and put your .snt file into cutom as well. It should work this way perfectly Smile
Remove the Custom/ from which file? the .hps, the .snt, or both? the .ogg and .snt are already in my sounds/Custom folder.

(01-12-2012, 02:01 AM)flamez3 Wrote: Also put the sounds in your custom story directory, so it plays for other people as well.
I will put it in my custom story when I'm ready to share it. As of now, the map file I test with isn't in my custom story directory, so no sounds will play if I put them there during testing.


Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
(This post was last modified: 01-12-2012, 02:05 AM by eagledude4.)
01-12-2012, 02:02 AM
Find
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#5
RE: Sound not playing

Remove the Custom/ from the .hps and the .snt

01-12-2012, 02:11 AM
Find
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: Sound not playing

(01-12-2012, 02:11 AM)flamez3 Wrote: Remove the Custom/ from the .hps and the .snt
Okay, done. I don't need the .ogg extension in the .snt file right?

<Sound File="big_clock_chime" />
Is that right?


Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
01-12-2012, 02:12 AM
Find
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#7
RE: Sound not playing

(01-12-2012, 02:12 AM)eagledude4 Wrote:
(01-12-2012, 02:11 AM)flamez3 Wrote: Remove the Custom/ from the .hps and the .snt
Okay, done. I don't need the .ogg extension in the .snt file right?

Is that right?


No you should put the .ogg in there, and yes that looks good apart from the missing .ogg

01-12-2012, 02:18 AM
Find
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: Sound not playing

Okay, latest files:

OnStart:
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "big_clock_chime.snt", "clock_grandfather_1", 0.0f, false);


big_clock_chime.snt:
<SOUNDENTITY>
  <SOUNDS>
      <Main>
          <Sound File="big_clock_chime.ogg" />
      </Main>
  </SOUNDS>
  <PROPERTIES Volume="0.5" MinDistance="20" MaxDistance="30" Random="1" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="True" Loop="True" Use3D="True" Blockable="True" BlockVolumeMul="0.5" Priority="0" />
</SOUNDENTITY>

Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
01-12-2012, 02:22 AM
Find
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#9
RE: Sound not playing

Yep, should work.

(This post was last modified: 01-12-2012, 02:27 AM by flamez3.)
01-12-2012, 02:26 AM
Find
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#10
RE: Sound not playing

(01-12-2012, 02:26 AM)flamez3 Wrote: Yep, should work.

For my other snt files, I didn't include the .ogg in the file name, and those sounds work. (Although I don't call them through the script)



Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
(This post was last modified: 01-12-2012, 02:33 AM by eagledude4.)
01-12-2012, 02:32 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)