Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Noob in trouble!
Macetrow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
#11
RE: Noob in trouble!

I tried that, but it didn't work either. This is quite frustrating xD I'm really grateful that someone is trying to help me with this!
04-14-2012, 09:41 AM
Find
zombiehacker595 Offline
Member

Posts: 141
Threads: 51
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 3
#12
RE: Noob in trouble!

(04-14-2012, 09:41 AM)Macetrow Wrote: I tried that, but it didn't work either. This is quite frustrating xD I'm really grateful that someone is trying to help me with this!


AddUseItemCallback("", "key_1", "mansion_3", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);

change that to this

AddUseItemCallback("OpenDoor", "key_1", "mansion_3", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);

in your script you didnt have OpenDoor which will mean it wont work if this still doesnt work i have no idea whats wrong
04-14-2012, 10:18 AM
Find
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 629
Threads: 25
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
#13
RE: Noob in trouble!

Btw heres an offtopic questionBig Grinoes your door display a message when you interact with it and its locked?Because mine doesnt Sad

04-14-2012, 11:54 AM
Find
Macetrow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
#14
RE: Noob in trouble!

Quote:
zombiehacker595
Wrote:
Quote:AddUseItemCallback("", "key_1", "mansion_3", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);

change that to this

AddUseItemCallback("OpenDoor", "key_1", "mansion_3", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);

in your script you didnt have OpenDoor which will mean it wont work if this still doesnt work i have no idea whats wrong
I tried it, but nothing changed.


Quote: Btw heres an offtopic questionBig Grinoes your door display a message when you interact with it and its locked?Because mine doesnt [Image: sad.gif]
Add a category in your .lang file with something like:

<CATEGORY Name="Messages">
<Entry Name="msgname1">This door is locked, you need the key to go through.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
And make sure you have something like this in your script:

void DoorLockedPlayer(string &in entity)
{
if(GetSwingDoorLocked("mansion_3") == true)
{

SetMessage("Messages", "msgname1", 0);

}
}

This is what i'm using and it's working.
04-14-2012, 03:55 PM
Find
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 629
Threads: 25
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
#15
RE: Noob in trouble!

(04-14-2012, 03:55 PM)Macetrow Wrote:
Quote:
zombiehacker595
Wrote:
Quote:AddUseItemCallback("", "key_1", "mansion_3", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);

change that to this

AddUseItemCallback("OpenDoor", "key_1", "mansion_3", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);

in your script you didnt have OpenDoor which will mean it wont work if this still doesnt work i have no idea whats wrong
I tried it, but nothing changed.


Quote: Btw heres an offtopic questionBig Grinoes your door display a message when you interact with it and its locked?Because mine doesnt [Image: sad.gif]
Add a category in your .lang file with something like:

<CATEGORY Name="Messages">
<Entry Name="msgname1">This door is locked, you need the key to go through.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
And make sure you have something like this in your script:

void DoorLockedPlayer(string &in entity)
{
if(GetSwingDoorLocked("mansion_3") == true)
{

SetMessage("Messages", "msgname1", 0);

}
}

This is what i'm using and it's working.


I have it exactly like that.The messages name in my lang is msgname and in the hps heres the part of my script:
void Lol(string &in entity)


{
if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Baws") == true)
{

SetMessage("Messages", "msgname", 0);

}
}


04-14-2012, 04:09 PM
Find
Macetrow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
#16
RE: Noob in trouble!

Are you sure you've got msgname in your .lang file as well?

Also, check if you've typed your function into the "PlayerInteractCallback" box on your door in the Level Editor?
04-14-2012, 04:12 PM
Find
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 629
Threads: 25
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
#17
RE: Noob in trouble!

(04-14-2012, 04:12 PM)Macetrow Wrote: Are you sure you've got msgname in your .lang file as well?

Also, check if you've typed your function into the "PlayerInteractCallback" box on your door in the Level Editor?


Yes i have done those both.In my lang file its msgname and in the script its like that.

04-14-2012, 05:15 PM
Find
Macetrow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
#18
RE: Noob in trouble!

Then i don't know why it doesn't work.
04-14-2012, 05:51 PM
Find
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 629
Threads: 25
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
#19
RE: Noob in trouble!

(04-14-2012, 05:51 PM)Macetrow Wrote: Then i don't know why it doesn't work.

Ok.But thanks anyways.

04-14-2012, 06:01 PM
Find
DRedshot Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Threads: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 11
#20
RE: Noob in trouble!

This is a long-shot, but try it anyways:

void OnStart()
{
AddUseItemCallback("", "key_1", "mansion_3", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);
SetEntityCallbackFunc("key_1", "OnPickup");
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor(string &in item, string &in entity)
{
SetSwingDoorLocked(entity, false, true);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door.snt", entity, 0, false);
RemoveItem(item);
AddDebugMessage("Key has been used, is door unlocked?" , false);
}

Check if the debug message shows up when you unlock the door. If it doesn't, there is a problem with the AddUseItemCallback, if it does, the problem is related to the SetSwingDoorLocked function.
Also, make sure you are hitting enter when you type the entity name in the Level Editor. It sounds like an obvious thing to say, but so many times I have had these mysterious problems because I forgot to hit enter and the entities name doesn't register.

(This post was last modified: 04-14-2012, 06:47 PM by DRedshot.)
04-14-2012, 06:46 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)