Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Missing ground in snow valley
Author Message
physhal Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago Missing ground in snow valley

I purchased Penumbra: Overture through Steam and I have encountered some graphical errors. In the first room of the game there is a small barrel behind the chair. I disappears whenever I look directly at it and I can't interact with it. Then when I get to the snow valley, the background is missing completely. There are a few landmarks sticking up but other than that everything is a white void.

My specs are:
AMD Phenom X4 9550(2.2GHz)
ATI Radeon HD 3600
Vista 64
05-04-2009, 06:24 AM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#2
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Missing ground in snow valley

Could you take a screenshot of the valley using something like Fraps?
05-04-2009, 07:06 AM
Find
physhal Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Missing ground in snow valley

Here are two screenshots of the phenomena I described:

[attachment=675][attachment=676]
(This post was last modified: 10-02-2009, 07:31 AM by jens.)
05-05-2009, 01:05 AM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#4
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Missing ground in snow valley

Never seen anything like that before.

Try downloading the latest drivers for your video card, then uninstalling the old ones, rebooting and then installing the new. That should make sure you have the latest drivers and are not using any strange settings.

Also, make sure Catalyst AI in the ATI settings is off.
05-05-2009, 07:03 AM
Find
physhal Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Missing ground in snow valley

I tried reinstalling the latest video driver and I turned off Catalyst AI to no effect.
While searching the forums I found a person with the same problem as me:
http://frictionalgames.com/forum/showthr...p?tid=2823

His issue seems to be with missing textures so I tried downloading from Steam again. This time I had no missing backgrounds. However once I restarted Overture and played again, I encountered the same issue as before. Does any of this help?
05-05-2009, 06:53 PM
Find
eliasfrost Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,769
Threads: 34
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 39
#6
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Missing ground in snow valley

Is there no possibility that the config file is messing things up? there have been numerous of threads about the config file messing up the resolution.

Just a thought.

[Image: indiedb_88x31.png]
05-06-2009, 04:44 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#7
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Missing ground in snow valley

It might be some problem with the cache files. Go into the game directory (not 100% sure where this is on the steam release) and then go in the redist folder and there locate the core/cache folder and delete all files. Start the game again and see what happens.
05-07-2009, 05:45 PM
Find
physhal Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Missing ground in snow valley

Nope, that didn't work, but I appreciate the suggestion.
05-07-2009, 05:53 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#9
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Missing ground in snow valley

Did you make any changes to the settings between playing the first time(when you had no errors) and the second time when the errors re-appeared?

If so go to My Documents/Penumbra Overture/ and delete the settings.cfg file, then start the game again to use default settings and see if that works. You could also try to turn the settings down to minimum and see if that helps, and then step by step turn them up to pinpoint more exactly what could be the problem.
05-07-2009, 08:02 PM
Website Find
physhal Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
#10
Solved: 2 Years, 2 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Missing ground in snow valley

I deleted the cfg file. The disappearing barrel was still "there," but the snow valley was fine. After restarting the game without changing any options, I got the missing ground again.
05-09-2009, 12:38 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)