Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 4.18 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements
Draug Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,110
Threads: 5
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 25
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

I have a question. The weekend after AMFP has been released I want to play it with a few friends on a 50" TV. Does this need more performance, than gaming on a 24" screen? I don't think so, because it's the same resolution (1920x1080), or do I make a mistake and we have to set the res higher?

Computer specs:
Intel Core i7-3820 3,60 GHz
Geforce GTX 680
8GB DDR RAM
08-19-2013, 11:43 AM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

As you said, it depends on the native resolution the TV is running at. Either way, that pc is very powerful so I don't think you will have any issues whatsoever.

If it's indeed 1920x1080 I suspect there could a small performance decrease while on the TV due to image up-scaling but I wouldn't worry about it. Your 680 won't even care! Smile
(This post was last modified: 08-19-2013, 11:53 AM by plutomaniac.)
08-19-2013, 11:50 AM
Find Reply
Vonicon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Threads: 0
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 2
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

The throttling problem is something that cannot be solved, it's a known problem of the amd fx 8350 cpus and the throttling is only disturbingly strong if I'm overclocking it...so I have to live with "only" 4.2 GhZ (with turbo core mode)
08-19-2013, 11:56 AM
Find Reply
Draug Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,110
Threads: 5
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 25
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-19-2013, 11:50 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: As you said, it depends on the native resolution the TV is running at. Either way, that pc is very powerful so I don't think you will have any issues whatsoever.

If it's indeed 1920x1080 I suspect there could a small performance decrease while on the TV due to image up-scaling but I wouldn't worry about it. Your 680 won't even care! Smile

Ok thank you. Big Grin I asked this, because I never played anything above a res of 1920x1080. And to be honest I have no idea how a higher res will look on the TV (I think sharper textures?). Is there any recommended resolution for an 50 inch TV, or is the rule -if res higher it looks better, but it needs more performance)?

Urgh- sorry for the english - this grammer can't be right. Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 08-19-2013, 11:57 AM by Draug.)
08-19-2013, 11:57 AM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-19-2013, 11:56 AM)Vonicon Wrote: The throttling problem is something that cannot be solved, it's a known problem of the amd fx 8350 cpus and the throttling is only disturbingly strong if I'm overclocking it...so I have to live with "only" 4.2 GhZ (with turbo core mode)

Oh you are overclocking. Ok then. Either way, the game will run just fine! Smile

(08-19-2013, 11:57 AM)droog Wrote: Ok thank you. Big Grin I asked this, because I never played anything above a res of 1920x1080. And to be honest I have no idea how a higher res will look on the TV (I think sharper textures?). Is there any recommended resolution for an 50 inch TV, or is the rule -if res higher it looks better, but it needs more performance)?

Urgh- sorry for the english - this grammer can't be right. Big Grin

A lot of 50'' TVs are 1920x1080. So it's a normal resolution. In general, a bigger resolution requires more horsepower but also bigger amount of GPU RAM. Most 680s have 2GB, some aftermarket have 4GB if I remember correctly. Either way, I don't think you will have any issues. Wink
08-19-2013, 12:06 PM
Find Reply
Draug Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,110
Threads: 5
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 25
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-19-2013, 12:06 PM)plutomaniac Wrote:
(08-19-2013, 11:57 AM)droog Wrote: Ok thank you. Big Grin I asked this, because I never played anything above a res of 1920x1080. And to be honest I have no idea how a higher res will look on the TV (I think sharper textures?). Is there any recommended resolution for an 50 inch TV, or is the rule -if res higher it looks better, but it needs more performance)?

Urgh- sorry for the english - this grammer can't be right. Big Grin

A lot of 50'' TVs are 1920x1080. So it's a normal resolution. In general, a bigger resolution requires more horsepower but also bigger amount of GPU RAM. Most 680s have 2GB, some aftermarket have 4GB if I remember correctly. Either way, I don't think you will have any issues. Wink

Okay, thanks. Yeah, I don't think that AMFP on the TV can force the GTX 680 to his knees, but I was uncertain regarding the res. Btw it's the 2GB GDDR5 model, but by now it always served me well. Smile
Thanks pluto.
08-19-2013, 12:19 PM
Find Reply
Lake Offline
Member

Posts: 58
Threads: 20
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Exclamation  my hardware is fine for a play decent?

Hello,

My PC:

OS: Windoes 7
Processor: Intel Core i7-2630QM 2.0 GhZ
Memory: 4GB
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M 1GB VRAM
Hard Drive: 500GB

it's all right belonging to the video card, do you think I can play well enough?
(This post was last modified: 08-19-2013, 05:11 PM by plutomaniac.)
08-19-2013, 02:14 PM
Find Reply
Sampyli Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 386
Threads: 2
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 8
RE: my hardware is fine for a play decent?

There is already a thread about this, but as you can see, your PC pretty much matches the requirements, so it should play just fine.
08-19-2013, 02:19 PM
Find Reply
theblackphantom Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

just a bit curious about how it will run for me

system specs

Processor: Intel® Core™ i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz

Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series

Total RAM: 8.0 GB
08-19-2013, 03:57 PM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
RE: Questions about System/Hardware Requirements

(08-19-2013, 02:14 PM)Lake Wrote: Hello,

OS: Windoes 7
Processor: Intel Core i7-2630QM 2.0 GhZ
Memory: 4GB
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M 1GB VRAM
Hard Drive: 500GB

it's all right belonging to the video card, do you think I can play well enough?

You will play just fine. I also have a 540M but with 2GB RAM he-he (not that the chip is capable of using all of them but whatever) Wink.

(08-19-2013, 03:57 PM)theblackphantom Wrote: just a bit curious about how it will run for me

system specs
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
Total RAM: 8.0 GB

You are good to go. Medium settings I presume.
(This post was last modified: 08-19-2013, 05:11 PM by plutomaniac.)
08-19-2013, 04:57 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)