Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Strange Display Flicker/Distortion
StormWeaver Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

I recently bought the Penumbra Collection and in all of them I get an odd display flicker that moves up the screen repeatedly and greatly distorting my view. I've messed with my resolution, turned off all effects, tried working with different frame rates (always made it worse). I double checked my drivers and all of them are up to date and downloaded the patches.

My system specs are in my sig, and a picture of the distortion is below. The shaded area in the pic jitters up across the screen repeatedly even while in the menu's and title screens.

[Image: img0295ca.jpg]

Specs: MacBook Pro Running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit through Boot Camp

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz
4096MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT (Drivers are up to date)
Local Resolution 1440 x 900
12-28-2009, 05:08 AM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

Have you tried the beta patch available?

It might also be some problem with settings for the graphics card or some kind of problem with you running a windows game on a mac (as I assume you are doing).

Also have you tried turning vsync on?
12-28-2009, 07:34 AM
Find
TheLittleGarfield Offline
Member

Posts: 120
Threads: 2
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

LOL, i had the same problem when i tried to instal Overture in to my laptop Big Grin

Meh...
12-28-2009, 12:52 PM
Find
StormWeaver Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

(12-28-2009, 07:34 AM)Thomas Wrote: Have you tried the beta patch available?

It might also be some problem with settings for the graphics card or some kind of problem with you running a windows game on a mac (as I assume you are doing).

Also have you tried turning vsync on?

If the Beta patch is the 1.0.3 version on the download site then I believe so, it didnt change anything noticably. (I downloaded the patch labled Full Penumbra:overture)

As for my computer I'm running the game through windows 7 which I have on my Mac Book.

I did try the vsync, it didnt change anything. I will also mention that the distortion occures no matter which part of the game I'm in, it appears in the innitial screens when the text types out, the Frictional Games and Paradox logos and all the menues as well and gets far worse in game.

If it is a problem with the graphics settings is there anything I can try to mess with to see if I cant get it to work?

Specs: MacBook Pro Running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit through Boot Camp

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz
4096MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT (Drivers are up to date)
Local Resolution 1440 x 900
12-29-2009, 06:21 AM
Find
StormWeaver Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

(12-28-2009, 12:52 PM)TheLittleGarfield Wrote: LOL, i had the same problem when i tried to instal Overture in to my laptop Big Grin

Were you able to fix it at all?

Specs: MacBook Pro Running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit through Boot Camp

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz
4096MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT (Drivers are up to date)
Local Resolution 1440 x 900
12-30-2009, 03:08 AM
Find
TheLittleGarfield Offline
Member

Posts: 120
Threads: 2
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

(12-30-2009, 03:08 AM)StormWeaver Wrote:
(12-28-2009, 12:52 PM)TheLittleGarfield Wrote: LOL, i had the same problem when i tried to instal Overture in to my laptop Big Grin

Were you able to fix it at all?

No. I tried, but failed D:

Meh...
12-30-2009, 05:23 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#7
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

You could try this version http://support.frictionalgames.com/entry/87/
(This post was last modified: 12-30-2009, 06:21 PM by jens.)
12-30-2009, 06:20 PM
Website Find
StormWeaver Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

(12-30-2009, 06:20 PM)jens Wrote: You could try this version http://support.frictionalgames.com/entry/87/

I downloaded that and tried to install it but got this error message.
"The program can't start because MSVCP71.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

Which I did, and it still pops up. Also I would note that I dont believe I have an ATI card, which is what that update is for, but figured it couldn't hurt to try.

Also, I tried to run it in compatibility mode and on every setting it always says "Could not load pointlight 2D". Not sure what it means but I'm trying just about anything to make the flicker go away.

Specs: MacBook Pro Running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit through Boot Camp

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz
4096MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT (Drivers are up to date)
Local Resolution 1440 x 900
01-02-2010, 11:09 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#9
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

Get the dll file here:
http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-fi...ml?msvcp71

just put it in the same dir as the penumbra exe.
01-06-2010, 09:34 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#10
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Strange Display Flicker/Distortion

By the sounds of it (the missing dll and Could not load pointlight 2D) is because you have not placed the .exe in the right location, it should be in the same folder as the original penumbra.exe, requiem.exe files. Usually the folder is called "redist" and contains folder such as models, maps, sounds and music.
01-06-2010, 09:48 AM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)