Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Linux 64bit (Yes I will be Making One)
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#1
Linux 64bit (Yes I will be Making One)

Ok.. Just throwing out a poll here to determine interest.. No promises!! It is *possible* for me to create a native 64bit version of Amnesia for linux this time due to newer version of libraries that we are using.

So Cast your vote..

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
(This post was last modified: 05-13-2010, 05:35 AM by Urkle.)
02-27-2010, 05:23 AM
Website Find Reply
fabioamd87 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 33
Threads: 6
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
#2
RE: Linux 64bit

absolutely yes
03-14-2010, 12:45 PM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#3
RE: Linux 64bit

Since almost all new processors are supporting 64bit, people give a try 64 bit linux. Which makes me smile, because I've been using 64bit OSs for years.
I'm starting to think that people use 64bit linux are getting superior to who still use 32bit.

But, will 32bit and 64 bir be different versions? I mean, if I purchase 64bit, will I able to get 32bit too; or will I have to purchase 32bit too?

03-14-2010, 04:15 PM
Website Find Reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#4
RE: Linux 64bit

if I build them they will both be included in the installer. And actually the pre-order gets you all 3 OSes.

The frustrating thing about 64bit is peoples misunderstanding of it. The reality is, unless an application needs more than 4GB of ram there is no need to make it 64bit.. it actually hurts.. as it ends up using more ram (64bit pointers instead of 32bit pointers). All of the enhancements 64bit would normally get (wider memory instruction sets) have been available for YEARS under the names of 3dnow, SSE, SSE 2, etc... So the perfomance boost of being able to copy 64bits at a time (actually with those extra instruction sets we can copy 128bits at a time) are already available.. So 64bit is only useful for database, video, and 3d rendering, or any other app that REALLY needs more ram.

What I do find hilarious is Intel made a huge announcement about how they will never make a 64bit "desktop" processor. And then AMD comes around the corner announcing their AMD64 line for desktops using the 32-64 bi-arch design (what all 64bit processors intel and amd are using now). So intel played catchup. AMD's motive (most likely) behind that is simplifying their production. They make one line of CPUs and cover all bases (desktop and server). A good marketing move.

And the myth that you can't access more than 4GB on a 32bit OS is false. as I can access all of my ram in a 32bit OS.. just each app can only access a max of 4GB.

Anyways, I will most likely be providing a 64bit linux build simply for the fact that it simplifies support and installation for users who do not want to install the 32bit libraries in their 64bit OS. I just have to get a 64bit linux install @home to start playing with building to make sure everything works.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
03-14-2010, 05:11 PM
Website Find Reply
WHiTeRaBBiT Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Linux 64bit

I voted yes mainly for convenience as 32bit apps on a 64bit systems can be difficult to get running sometimes (even with ia32 compatibility libs). But I agree with your point. I've been running a 32bit OS on my Core2 Quad for over a year before finally moving to a 64bit OS. The only reason I finally did was to use a full 8gig of RAM for graphic rendering purposes.
03-15-2010, 05:35 AM
Website Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#6
RE: Linux 64bit

Thanks for the information.
This makes me want a 64bit windows build too Tongue

03-17-2010, 04:25 PM
Website Find Reply
alexrudd Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: Linux 64bit

I'll add my name to the interested list. Although it wouldn't be that much of a deal if it works with installed 32-bit libraries. If it's doable it would just make things more convenient on amd64.
05-10-2010, 03:16 AM
Find Reply
morris Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Threads: 0
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: Linux 64bit

Yes! Thank you! I even sent an e-mail about it (with links showing in-game differences between ia32 and ia64, but I can't find it right now) before buying penumbra Blush, but got no direct answer (so I registered here and found that it did not happen, so this is my first post Big Grin). I don't know if there would be quality differences like these http://www.atari.com/shadowops/us/amd.html & http://www.pcper.com/image.php?aid=&img=...arison.jpg, but I still want it.
If nothing else, it'll require less time to install/disk space/ram, with no more multilib profiles here! For example, pre-64bits-era flash need a 32-bit IceCat, but I wanted a 64-bit one, the only other option was nsplugin wrapper, but it has so many glitches, I ended up with two IceCat installations.

Besides, I always thought x64 had "3dnow, SSE, SSE 2, etc..." features by default, while in x86 you had to explicitly tell the compiler to use the proper flags (since not all processors support them), hence phoronix benchmarks [1] [2] showing advantages even with applications that doesn't use more than 4GiB, but are built with compatibility in mind. So, if you can, please!
05-10-2010, 08:09 AM
Find Reply
alexrudd Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: Linux 64bit

Quote:I don't know if there would be quality differences like these <snip>, but I still want it.
Quite frankly, those images are ridiculous marketing materials. They're not comparing apples to apples there. 64-bit addressing space does not really make any difference in texture quality. The advantage of a 64-bit build is, as you mentioned, the removal of the hassle with installing 32 bit libraries.[/quote]
05-11-2010, 05:21 PM
Find Reply
morris Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Threads: 0
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
#10
RE: Linux 64bit

(05-11-2010, 05:21 PM)alexrudd Wrote:
Quote:I don't know if there would be quality differences like these <snip>, but I still want it.
Quite frankly, those images are ridiculous marketing materials. They're not comparing apples to apples there. 64-bit addressing space does not really make any difference in texture quality. The advantage of a 64-bit build is, as you mentioned, the removal of the hassle with installing 32 bit libraries.

Yes, I guessed it. I just wanted to sum up my thoughts, also emul-32bit libs are binary only here, so using the native ones would be faster.
05-11-2010, 09:19 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)