Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks
ringo009 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

I just upgraded to Mac's new OS, and now Penumbra wont open.
I'd really hate if I couldn't play those games anymore... Is there anything I can do about it?
10-29-2013, 08:04 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#2
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

could you see if there is a crash report in the "Console" application (crash report or diagnostic report). Also send a copy of your hpl.log. (in ~/Library/Application Support/Frictional Games/Penumbra/)

actually.. wait.. Penumbra is in ~/Library/Preferences/ somewhere.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
(This post was last modified: 10-29-2013, 08:22 PM by Urkle.)
10-29-2013, 08:21 PM
Website Find
ScaredCyanide Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

I'm having the same issue. It's making me seriously regret upgrading to mavericks (It's not even that good)
10-30-2013, 07:22 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#4
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

joy.. looks like I need to update SDL in the game.. Can someone try replacing the SDL framework located "inside" the game bundle (Overture.app/Contents/Frameworks/) with the 1.2.15 build from libsdl.org

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
10-30-2013, 01:41 PM
Website Find
Bink Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

(10-30-2013, 01:41 PM)Urkle Wrote: joy.. looks like I need to update SDL in the game.. Can someone try replacing the SDL framework located "inside" the game bundle (Overture.app/Contents/Frameworks/) with the 1.2.15 build from libsdl.org

I've done that just now. Launching the game now displays a yellow screen for a fraction of a second, then crashes. Note that this is the Steam version which I just bought moments ago. I'm not sure if it differs from other versions in any way.

I do get some console output between launch and crash:
30.10.13 18:00:30,112 Penumbra[814]: CPSGetCurrentProcess(): This call is deprecated and should not be called anymore.
30.10.13 18:00:30,112 Penumbra[814]: CPSSetForegroundOperationState(): This call is deprecated and should not be called anymore.
30.10.13 18:00:30,463 WindowServer[105]: Display 0x4280300 captured by conn 0x1e10f
30.10.13 18:00:30,594 com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[153]: (com.frictionalgames.PenumbraOvertureSteam.47728[814]) Exited with code: 1

I'd really like to play Penumbra, so if there's any way I can help with fixing this problem, I will.


EDIT:
I checked the hpl.log and everything is fine until
ATI Fragment Shader: 0
Creating graphic systems
  Creating Renderer2D
ERROR: Couldn't texture 'PointLight2D.bmp'
FATAL ERROR: Couldn't load PointLight2DDeleting ATI shader to 0
Deleting ATI shader to 0
Deleting ATI shader to 0
Deleting ATI shader to 0

Seems like it's not able to load the bmp-file. Perhaps SDL_image also has to be updated? I will try that now.

EDIT: Replaced with the newest SDL_image 1.2 but the results are the same.


EDIT: Apparently that had nothing to do with the crash, replacing SDL was enough.
I found this thread (http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-2837.html) and followed the instructions there and got it to run (though with horribly distorted graphics!) by running from Terminal with the Penumbra Overture folder as my working directory. This appears to be a file path problem. The actual crash is fixed by replacing SDL with the newer version.
(This post was last modified: 10-30-2013, 06:53 PM by Bink.)
10-30-2013, 06:06 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#6
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

in the "Console" application there should be a menu item to show a folder tree of files.. do that and look for Crash reports for Penumbra

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
10-30-2013, 09:01 PM
Website Find
Bink Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

(10-30-2013, 09:01 PM)Urkle Wrote: in the "Console" application there should be a menu item to show a folder tree of files.. do that and look for Crash reports for Penumbra

Is this in reply to my post? Because it doesn't crash for me anymore after I replaced SDL with the newer version and it never triggered a crash report. All it did was quit right away with no warning or report, just exiting with code 1. As I mentioned before, it is running now if I launch from the correct working directory. It's just the graphics being distorted now (screenshot attached, looks like normals and UVs are completely wrong) but I'm not sure if that's on topic here. It also doesn't happen in Black Plague, which I was able to play just fine after updating SDL.


Attached Files
.jpg   Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-30 um 18.48.52.jpg (Size: 145.13 KB / Downloads: 88)
(This post was last modified: 10-30-2013, 10:34 PM by Bink.)
10-30-2013, 10:33 PM
Find
ringo009 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

There is no crash report, but here is a copy of hpl.log:

Quote:-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating resource managers
Misc Creation
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init low level graphics
Setting video mode: 800 x 600 - 32 bpp
Init Glee...OK
Setting up OpenGL
Max texture image units: 16
Max texture coord units: 8
Two sided stencil: 1
Vertex Buffer Object: 1
Anisotropic filtering: 1
Max Anisotropic degree: 16
Multisampling: 1
Vertex Program: 1
Fragment Program: 1
NV Register Combiners: 0
NV Register Combiners Stages: 2006746
ATI Fragment Shader: 0
Creating graphic systems
Creating Renderer2D
ERROR: Couldn't texture 'PointLight2D.bmp'
FATAL ERROR: Couldn't load PointLight2DDeleting ATI shader to 0
Deleting ATI shader to 0
Deleting ATI shader to 0
Deleting ATI shader to 0

Also, I tried replacing the SDL framework as you asked, but it did nothing...

Anyway, thanks for answering so soon, and sorry I couldn't answer till now.
(This post was last modified: 10-31-2013, 10:50 AM by ringo009.)
10-31-2013, 10:47 AM
Find
awesomealex64 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
#9
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

(10-30-2013, 06:06 PM)Bink Wrote:
(10-30-2013, 01:41 PM)Urkle Wrote: joy.. looks like I need to update SDL in the game.. Can someone try replacing the SDL framework located "inside" the game bundle (Overture.app/Contents/Frameworks/) with the 1.2.15 build from libsdl.org

I've done that just now. Launching the game now displays a yellow screen for a fraction of a second, then crashes. Note that this is the Steam version which I just bought moments ago. I'm not sure if it differs from other versions in any way.

I do get some console output between launch and crash:
30.10.13 18:00:30,112 Penumbra[814]: CPSGetCurrentProcess(): This call is deprecated and should not be called anymore.
30.10.13 18:00:30,112 Penumbra[814]: CPSSetForegroundOperationState(): This call is deprecated and should not be called anymore.
30.10.13 18:00:30,463 WindowServer[105]: Display 0x4280300 captured by conn 0x1e10f
30.10.13 18:00:30,594 com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[153]: (com.frictionalgames.PenumbraOvertureSteam.47728[814]) Exited with code: 1

I'd really like to play Penumbra, so if there's any way I can help with fixing this problem, I will.


EDIT:
I checked the hpl.log and everything is fine until
ATI Fragment Shader: 0
Creating graphic systems
  Creating Renderer2D
ERROR: Couldn't texture 'PointLight2D.bmp'
FATAL ERROR: Couldn't load PointLight2DDeleting ATI shader to 0
Deleting ATI shader to 0
Deleting ATI shader to 0
Deleting ATI shader to 0

Seems like it's not able to load the bmp-file. Perhaps SDL_image also has to be updated? I will try that now.

EDIT: Replaced with the newest SDL_image 1.2 but the results are the same.


EDIT: Apparently that had nothing to do with the crash, replacing SDL was enough.
I found this thread (http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-2837.html) and followed the instructions there and got it to run (though with horribly distorted graphics!) by running from Terminal with the Penumbra Overture folder as my working directory. This appears to be a file path problem. The actual crash is fixed by replacing SDL with the newer version.


Hey I'm having the same problem with mavericks and tried to click on the thread you recommended but it seems to have closed or something because I keep getting a 404 error. Any chance you can mirror it? thanks!
11-01-2013, 02:58 AM
Find
Ashtoreth Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,278
Threads: 6
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 129
#10
Solved: 4 Years, 5 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra doesn't open on Mavericks

Hi,

I noticed that the ) was causing the error in the link. Here it is:

http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-2837.html

11-01-2013, 04:00 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)