Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Refuses to install
LsNDs
Unregistered

 
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago Refuses to install
I purchased a physical copy of the Penumbra collection a couple days
ago and I've been having problems installing the game. When I try to
install, it stops responding. After a while I'll get a notification
saying one of the files, but if I do any of the three options (abort, retry, ignore), it just stops responding again. The only way I can quit the installer is by ejecting the disk, but I feel like I'm breaking a file every time I do that. Has this ever been fixed? I'm running Windows 7 64 bit with a 2.8GHz processor and 8GB of RAM.

Upon closer inspection, my CD doesn't appear to be a legitimate copy of Penumbra. Are they normally labeled as DVD RWs when you open them?
05-09-2014, 11:18 PM
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Refuses to install
From where did you buy that copy? Does it have artwork or similar on top of the disk?
05-10-2014, 12:11 AM
Find
Guest
Unregistered

 
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Refuses to install
(05-10-2014, 12:11 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: From where did you buy that copy? Does it have artwork or similar on top of the disk?
Half Price Books. It has CD artwork, but it feels like it was manually printed.
05-10-2014, 12:29 AM
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Refuses to install
Are you sure your DVD player is working properly? Otherwise, either the DVD is corrupted or it's not a legit copy.

As far as whether it's a legit copy, I assigned this thread to our admin, Jens who should be able to help.
(This post was last modified: 05-10-2014, 12:47 AM by plutomaniac.)
05-10-2014, 12:45 AM
Find
Guest
Unregistered

 
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Refuses to install
(05-10-2014, 12:45 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: Are you sure your DVD player is working properly? Otherwise, either the DVD is corrupted or it's not a legit copy.

As far as whether it's a legit copy, I assigned this thread to our admin, Jens who should be able to help.
I've attempted installing on a Vista laptop beforehand and had the exact same problem.
05-10-2014, 12:49 AM
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#6
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Refuses to install
Mmm ok, then it should be the DVD. Either "broken" or not legit. Jens will know about that. Let's wait for his reply.
05-10-2014, 12:51 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#7
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Refuses to install
I don't know but it does not sound like a legitimate copy if it is a DVD-RW Smile

Could be that the disc is damaged or possible you can try and copy the installer to the harddrive first, then run the installer from there (if it has to check the certificate on the installer it can take some time if running of the DVD).
05-12-2014, 07:37 AM
Website Find
LsNDs
Unregistered

 
#8
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Refuses to install
(05-12-2014, 07:37 AM)jens Wrote: I don't know but it does not sound like a legitimate copy if it is a DVD-RW Smile

Could be that the disc is damaged or possible you can try and copy the installer to the harddrive first, then run the installer from there (if it has to check the certificate on the installer it can take some time if running of the DVD).
Tried that before I posted the thread. So far it's the only thing I've tried. Doesn't work, unfortunately.

Gonna try installing while skipping install of the manuals.
05-13-2014, 05:13 AM
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#9
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Refuses to install
Since you paid them for the broken copy, why not take it back to the retailer and ask them for a new one?
(This post was last modified: 05-13-2014, 10:26 PM by plutomaniac.)
05-13-2014, 05:05 PM
Find
Guest
Unregistered

 
#10
Solved: 3 Years, 5 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Refuses to install
Turns out it was just the manuals that wouldn't install. Everything else is working fine.

I unfortunately can't lock the topic due to being a guest, but I might have problems later. Thanks for your help!
05-13-2014, 10:03 PM




Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)