Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Frictional splash screen frozen
AlexBrogan
Unregistered

 
#1
Not Solved Frictional splash screen frozen
I had the game a few years ago and it ran fine, but now, after having "upgraded" to Windows 10 (may or may not be related) the Frictional splash screen takes ages to load and just stays there once it's fully faded in. Any suggestions?
I've tried all the compatibility modes, updating drivers, resetting computer, reinstalling game. Pigs runs fine, but TDD refuses to.
11-22-2017, 05:33 AM
Reply
AlexBrogan
Unregistered

 
#2
Not Solved RE: Frictional splash screen frozen
(11-22-2017, 05:33 AM)AlexBrogan Wrote: I had the game a few years ago and it ran fine, but now, after having "upgraded" to Windows 10 (may or may not be related) the Frictional splash screen takes ages to load and just stays there once it's fully faded in. Any suggestions?
I've tried all the compatibility modes, updating drivers, resetting computer, reinstalling game. Pigs runs fine, but TDD refuses to.

Update, I got to the “Welcome to Amnesia: The Dark Descent!” screen where you’re meant to learn how to get the best experience, but it fully froze there.
11-22-2017, 08:27 AM
Reply
SteveR Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 1
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 3
#3
Not Solved RE: Frictional splash screen frozen
Could you give more details on this problem? Fully froze as in application hang? Your mouse is unresponsive? Are you windowed? etc etc

Also if you can provide a log file that will help.
11-22-2017, 02:39 PM
Find Reply
AlexBrogan
Unregistered

 
#4
Not Solved RE: Frictional splash screen frozen
(11-22-2017, 02:39 PM)SteveR Wrote: Could you give more details on this problem? Fully froze as in application hang? Your mouse is unresponsive? Are you windowed? etc etc

Also if you can provide a log file that will help.

My mouse works but it moves very slowly on the game screen. It is windowed, but only so I can easy use task manager to end the task and to look at resource values and such. However, full screen does the same thing. The application, according to task manager is using almost no CPU. It stays around 0.3% of my total CPU which is definitely not right. It appears to just not be able to use the resources it needs to use. Also, all 3 Penumbra games work fine. I’m not sure how to get the log file, but I can provide it if someone helps me figure out where that is and such.
11-22-2017, 05:58 PM
Reply
Romulator Offline
Not Tech Support ;-)

Posts: 3,586
Threads: 62
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 195
#5
Not Solved RE: Frictional splash screen frozen
(11-22-2017, 05:58 PM)AlexBrogan Wrote: I’m not sure how to get the log file, but I can provide it if someone helps me figure out where that is and such.

Take a look at Problem X in the troubleshooting guide: https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-3754.html

This will tell you where the hpl.log file is depending on your system. Smile

Also, since you have upgraded to Windows 10, your system may have automatically done some DPI Scaling. Amnesia doesn't like that and will bug out, but it usually does so during the game as opposed to the gamma selection. I believe DPI Scaling is in the Display Settings, and should be set to 100%.

If worse comes to worse, I'll provide you with a main_settings.cfg (or someone else will) to skip the "welcome to amnesia" screens to see if that fixes the error.

Discord: Romulator#0001
[Image: 3f6f01a904.png]
11-22-2017, 10:16 PM
Find Reply
Jump to the post that solved this thread.


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Human Verification
Please tick the checkbox that you see below. This process is used to prevent automated spam bots.



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)