Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 3.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[Model] Cannon
Sel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 276
Threads: 10
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
#11
RE: [Model] Cannon

(12-20-2010, 08:03 PM)Tottel Wrote: You eh.. have a low-poly version as well, right? :>

Naturally, it LoD's from 11450 Tris

Down to 5k

Followed by 3k
12-22-2010, 05:25 PM
Find Reply
DIGI Byte Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 376
Threads: 20
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1
#12
RE: [Model] Cannon

might wanna bump it lower, a high quality humanoid character is about 4-6k

try and pump it down to 1-3k average no higher then 3.5k

its just a cannon
12-22-2010, 09:22 PM
Find Reply
Sel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 276
Threads: 10
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
#13
RE: [Model] Cannon

(12-22-2010, 09:22 PM)DIGI Byte Wrote: might wanna bump it lower, a high quality humanoid character is about 4-6k

try and pump it down to 1-3k average no higher then 3.5k

its just a cannon

I wasn't planning on using the tf2 model for this. A significant amount of the detail can be sacrificed easily with the improved normal mapping and dark environments amnesia offers.

However, your comparison is almost totally unrelated. They used 4-6k on monsters that you're discouraged from even looking at (blur, sanity loss, etc), meanwhile this would be more of a central set piece, and not a character model.

I'm going to continue sifting through the game assets to find what a proper budget would be, but until then, considering there haven't been many (if any?) serious models developed specifically for Amnesia yet by the community it's a little early for any budgets to be set in stone. Just saying.

Also somehow I don't think I'm going to use the 3k model.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3332789/3klolol.jpg
(This post was last modified: 12-22-2010, 10:10 PM by Sel.)
12-22-2010, 10:08 PM
Find Reply
Tottel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 307
Threads: 9
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
#14
RE: [Model] Cannon

Ok well, a Half-life 2 player character is about 4-5K; better reference? Smile
Your model will drain some performance and that would be ok for a big model that fills the room and drains all the attention to it. But a mapper will probably place multiple cannons and they are not *that* huge.

As you said, put more detail in the textures and less in the models. You can make a perfect normal map from that high-poly model. Smile
12-23-2010, 12:04 AM
Find Reply
Sel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 276
Threads: 10
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
#15
RE: [Model] Cannon

(12-23-2010, 12:04 AM)Tottel Wrote: Ok well, a Half-life 2 player character is about 4-5K; better reference? Smile

Not really, considering hl2 is from 2004, and we're just about in 2011 now.

(12-23-2010, 12:04 AM)Tottel Wrote: Your model will drain some performance and that would be ok for a big model that fills the room and drains all the attention to it. But a mapper will probably place multiple cannons and they are not *that* huge.

I was intending this as an indoor centerpiece object, I'm not exactly sure what use any mapper would have for multiple cannons, since they'd generally be outdoors, and that's something amnesia doesn't really handle very well.

I'm not quite sure what the big fuss is here, it's not uncommon for simple models to be over 10k tris now, does amnesia have some sort of trouble rendering static meshes that I don't know about :?


Don't get me wrong, I have every intention of optimizing this as best I can for this engine, it's just currently, there isn't anything to compare it to as far as props that already exist, so until I have a chance to mess around in the engine a fair bit there's really no way to determine a proper budget for this kind of object in Amnesia.
(This post was last modified: 12-23-2010, 12:48 AM by Sel.)
12-23-2010, 12:36 AM
Find Reply
DIGI Byte Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 376
Threads: 20
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1
#16
RE: [Model] Cannon

its just a general rule for optimization

amnesia can handle high poly counts, but you'll be an idiot to upload a cannon with over 4k poly's even for a center piece, its just stupid... be practical and optimise to a point when you know its able to retain 95% detail

you need to use common sense when modeling for games...
and in the altered words of Black Jack
"Be kind, Optimise."
12-26-2010, 05:16 AM
Find Reply
Sel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 276
Threads: 10
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
#17
RE: [Model] Cannon

(12-26-2010, 05:16 AM)DIGI Byte Wrote: its just a general rule for optimization

amnesia can handle high poly counts, but you'll be an idiot to upload a cannon with over 4k poly's even for a center piece, its just stupid... be practical and optimise to a point when you know its able to retain 95% detail

you need to use common sense when modeling for games...
and in the altered words of Black Jack
"Be kind, Optimise."

Hi since you don't seem to have your facts straight at all. The usual budget for a large centerpiece in the games industry today is 20k - 40K triangles though that doesn't mean the whole budget is going to be used. Meanwhile First person weapons are usually 10k, vehicles are usually 15K. This is going to end up at 5.5K when it's not LoD'd

I'm not sure where you're pulling your numbers, but they sound like the restrictions that would have been in place. When I Was developing levels and assets for halo, 4 years ago.

Sources.

http://www.ilyanedyal.com/

http://www.teamfortress.com/contribute/tips.php

http://www.incrysis.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=26036

If you really expect me to develop like it's 2000 when it comes to my assets (and in turn make them look unacceptably bad you're in for a surprise :S)
(This post was last modified: 12-26-2010, 08:09 PM by Sel.)
12-26-2010, 07:05 PM
Find Reply
Sel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 276
Threads: 10
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
#18
RE: [Model] Cannon

[Image: cannonwtf.jpg]

Alright so the mesh is sitting on 0,0,0 in max and ends up around -20 -20 -50 in the model viewer.

Units are set to meters, the textures and material are configured correctly.

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tut...loutsource

Following that, but the tutorial is written pretty poorly so :/

Spoiler below!
The object shall be positioned in the file so that the bottom of the object is at the center of the screen.

what does that even mean

anyway, any ideas.
12-27-2010, 06:01 PM
Find Reply
ModManDann Offline
Member

Posts: 61
Threads: 6
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
#19
RE: [Model] Cannon

When this is finished, may I use this in my mod?

Current project: Mind Trap
12-27-2010, 06:58 PM
Find Reply
xiphirx Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 662
Threads: 16
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 5
#20
RE: [Model] Cannon

hm... I've never had that happen to me when I export from maya...

Make sure you set the correct options in the exporter.

12-27-2010, 09:43 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)