Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
[SCRIPT] activating script area - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: [SCRIPT] activating script area (/thread-14500.html)



activating script area - zombiehacker595 - 04-05-2012

void DeactivateMonster(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
SetScriptAreaActive("Deactivate_grunt_1", true);
}



it basically said SetScriptAreaActive doesnt exist so what would the proper thing to put in be



RE: activating script area - Cranky Old Man - 04-05-2012

No, if you search for "SetScriptAreaActive" in the script function list (at http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/amnesia/script_functions ) you will find that it doesn't exist, which means that it must be a custom function created in the same hps file that you copied DeactivateMonster() from.
Seriously, you need to learn the basics of scripting instead of asking the forum every time things don't work out for you. YourComputer made a YouTube tutorial. Start with that. Then learn AngelScript and read about script functions on the wiki.




RE: activating script area - zombiehacker595 - 04-05-2012

(04-05-2012, 03:19 AM)Cranky Old Man Wrote: No, if you search for "SetScriptAreaActive" in the script function list (at http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/amnesia/script_functions ) you will find that it doesn't exist, which means that it must be a custom function created in the same hps file that you copied DeactivateMonster() from.
Seriously, you need to learn the basics of scripting instead of asking the forum every time things don't work out for you. YourComputer made a YouTube tutorial. Start with that. Then learn AngelScript and read about script functions on the wiki.


i know the basics but i just dont know how to set the script area activate


RE: activating script area - Strembitsky - 04-05-2012

Use SetEntityActive.


RE: activating script area - Xanthos - 04-05-2012

In a script you can add or remove script areas.

Adding

{
AddEntityCollideCallBack Thingy
}

Removing.
Shown in post #4