Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
How To Transition To A New Map? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: How To Transition To A New Map? (/thread-18143.html)



How To Transition To A New Map? - g2uypie - 09-03-2012

I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?


RE: How To Transition To A New Map? - Robby - 09-03-2012

(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


Code:
ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
Code:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.


RE: How To Transition To A New Map? - g2uypie - 09-03-2012

(09-03-2012, 09:02 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


Code:
ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
Code:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.
Thanks a ton. Sending rep your way right now Smile


RE: How To Transition To A New Map? - Robby - 09-03-2012

(09-03-2012, 09:06 PM)g2uypie Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:02 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


Code:
ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
Code:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.
Thanks a ton. Sending rep your way right now Smile
Thanks. And you're welcome. And it works, right?


RE: How To Transition To A New Map? - g2uypie - 09-03-2012

(09-03-2012, 09:08 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:06 PM)g2uypie Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:02 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


Code:
ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
Code:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.
Thanks a ton. Sending rep your way right now Smile
Thanks. And you're welcome. And it works, right?
I'm unsure right now, I just needed that for later on. If not, i'll come back and send you a message.


RE: How To Transition To A New Map? - Robby - 09-03-2012

(09-03-2012, 09:20 PM)g2uypie Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:08 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:06 PM)g2uypie Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:02 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


Code:
ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
Code:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.
Thanks a ton. Sending rep your way right now Smile
Thanks. And you're welcome. And it works, right?
I'm unsure right now, I just needed that for later on. If not, i'll come back and send you a message.
Ok, when I'll see that message (if there will be), I'll look into it. It is 11:21PM right now at where I live. And I need the sleep.