Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Need help fast please! - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: Need help fast please! (/thread-18853.html)

Pages: 1 2


Need help fast please! - Zaapeer - 10-19-2012

So I've been working on a new custom story lately, and in one part you're supposed to walk over a beam. I placed an area in the middle of the beam that is supposed to trigger a function where the beam breaks and you fall into a hole. Now there are two problems when I'm playing the custom story:

1. When I have my crosshair on the beem where the area is placed it changes to a door, as if you were looking at a level door (the area type is script).

2. The beam doesn't break.. Sad Here's the script for the beam part:

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "BeamBreakArea", "BeamBreak", true, 1);
}


void BeamBreak(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
SetPropHealth("wood_beam_1", 0);
SetEntityActive("block_box_3", true);
}


Please help me! Sad


RE: Need help fast please! - SilentStriker - 10-19-2012

Can the beam even break? is it a breakable entity or is it a static object?


RE: Need help fast please! - Zaapeer - 10-19-2012

(10-19-2012, 07:03 PM)SilentStriker Wrote: Can the beam even break? is it a breakable entity or is it a static object?
It is a breakable entity Smile


RE: Need help fast please! - Robby - 10-19-2012

Make sure "DisableBreakable" in the Editor (for the entity itself) is disabled. Names are correct?

If you created the script file while the map was loaded in Amnesia, restart Amnesia.


RE: Need help fast please! - Zaapeer - 10-19-2012

(10-19-2012, 07:30 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote: Make sure "DisableBreakable" in the Editor (for the entity itself) is disabled. Names are correct?

If you created the script file while the map was loaded in Amnesia, restart Amnesia.
It is disabled and all the names are right.. Sad


RE: Need help fast please! - Robby - 10-19-2012

That's an oddity, then. Maybe try with a different "wooden beam" entity? Maybe the one you're trying to use is unbreakable by default. I think "special" is where you can try and look.


RE: Need help fast please! - Zaapeer - 10-19-2012

(10-19-2012, 07:39 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote: That's an oddity, then. Maybe try with a different "wooden beam" entity? Maybe the one you're trying to use is unbreakable by default. I think "special" is where you can try and look.
I tried looking in "special" but I didn't find anything.. :/ I tried to use a wooden platform instead of the beam but that didn't work either.. Sad


RE: Need help fast please! - The chaser - 10-19-2012

Look at the model editor and take a look. Look at it's values and properties. Maybe there's the key.


RE: Need help fast please! - Zaapeer - 10-20-2012

(10-19-2012, 08:10 PM)The chaser Wrote: Look at the model editor and take a look. Look at it's values and properties. Maybe there's the key.
What excactly am I supposed to look for in the model editor? Smile


RE: Need help fast please! - FlawlessHappiness - 10-20-2012

you know if it can't break by setting the health to 0, then it will never break i guess.. Unless you pretend to by playing some sounds, using some particle effects and sets it inactive.

If you are using the hole from the prison, then you will have to know that that is actually a level door. I had the same problem with that one... Didn't know where the level door game from...