Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
My Questions - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: My Questions (/thread-21943.html)

Pages: 1 2 3


My Questions - cruisy18 - 06-27-2013

Hey guys,

I have followed the steps in this guide:

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/third_party_tools/3d/blender

But everytime I load the .dae into ModelViewer, it crashes! I'm using the latest version of Blender.

Any help would be appreciated!

EDIT:

Renamed thread title, as this is where I'll keep all my questions and problems I run into while creating custom stories.


RE: Model Viewer Crashes With .dae - richm0nkey - 06-27-2013

Can you load the .dae into the model editor?


RE: Model Viewer Crashes With .dae - cruisy18 - 06-27-2013

(06-27-2013, 06:59 AM)richm0nkey Wrote: Can you load the .dae into the model editor?

Hey! Thanks for replying. But I got it working anyhow! Now just trying to figure out how to get this .dae into the Level Editor.

Yep, figured it out. Sweet Smile


RE: Model Viewer Crashes With .dae - richm0nkey - 06-27-2013

This probably is not the best way to do it but what I do (If it is a static object)

1.open level editor

2.Open your desired level to import the .dae into

3. Click any static object to insert into the level

4. Select that static objeect and to the side will be the properties

5. under the general tab look for mesh click the ... to browse for your .dae

6.select your .dae and that should work Tongue


RE: Model Viewer Crashes With .dae - cruisy18 - 06-27-2013

Ah, thanks! Hey, I have run into another challenge I'm trying to figure out - making that model an entity (just something the player can move around). I'll do some googling but if you know a good and painless way to do this (or even a link), that'd be great.


RE: Model Viewer Crashes With .dae - richm0nkey - 06-27-2013

Meh I have not had the greatest luck when it comes to creating custom entities sorry Sad All i know is that you have to load the .dae into the modeleditor using File>Import Mesh. Then set the properties of the model by going to Settings>User Defined Variables set the Type to "Object" and subtype "Grab" but I am probably wrong :/


RE: Model Viewer Crashes With .dae - cruisy18 - 06-27-2013

All good! I found this tutorial which worked http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-21024.html


RE: Model Viewer Crashes With .dae - cruisy18 - 06-28-2013

(06-27-2013, 08:01 AM)cruisy18 Wrote: All good! I found this tutorial which worked http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-21024.html

Hey, I have another question but I don't want to start a new thread.

Atm, I have two main_settings.cfg (I rename them so I can switch between them). One is the standard, and one is set up for a development environment, as shown in this wiki page:

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/amnesia/devenvguide

When I switch to the development main_settings.cfg, it does not pick up on my descriptions or anything in my extra_english.lang file.

Is there a way I can run Amnesia in a development environment and my extra_english.lang file can be read?

Also, another question. I've run into a bit of a problem with coding. Been following a tutorial series on Youtube, and I've copied this bit of code:

Code:
void FUNCTION3(string &in entity)
{
   if(GetLocalVarInt("DoorLocked") == 1)
   {
      SetMesssage("Messages", "doorlock2", 3);
   }
}

Amnesia crashes when I load the custom story, but if I delete the line:
Code:
SetMesssage("Messages", "doorlock2", 3);

it won't crash, but it obviously won't play the message. Anybody care to tell me what I'm doing wrong?

The full code is:

Code:
void OnStart()
{
  SetLocalVarInt("DoorLocked", 1);
  AddUseItemCallback("", "key_tower_1", "level_dungeon_1", "FUNCTION", true);
  AddUseItemCallback("", "key_tower_2", "castle_1", "FUNCTION2", true);
  SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback("castle_1", "FUNCTION3", false);
}

void OnEnter()
{

}

void OnLeave()
{

}

void FUNCTION(string &in item, string &in door)
{
   SetLevelDoorLocked("level_dungeon_1", false);
   PlayGuiSound("unlock_door.snt", 100);
   RemoveItem(item);
}

void FUNCTION2(string &in item, string &in door)
{
   SetSwingDoorLocked("castle_1", false, true);
   PlayGuiSound("unlock_door.snt", 100);
   RemoveItem(item);
   SetLocalVarInt("DoorLocked", 0);
}

void FUNCTION3(string &in entity)
{
   if(GetLocalVarInt("DoorLocked") == 1)
   {
      SetMesssage("Messages", "doorlock2", 3);
   }
}



RE: My Questions - Wapez - 06-28-2013

Code:
SetMesssage("Messages", "doorlock2", 3);

There are three s' in the SetMessage. It should be:


Code:
SetMessage("Messages", "doorlock2", 3);



RE: My Questions - PutraenusAlivius - 06-29-2013

The .lang file cannot be readed in Dev Mode. I actually kinda run into this and wanna talk to the forum for help until I tested using the default one where it works.